Our first Shiso syrup production at scale

in #food3 years ago

Last week we have received 6.5kg of Shiso leaves from an urban garden and a farm in the Leipzig region. The weight is after we removed the stems.

Shiso leaves from a local urbangarden and a farm

3CA505E7-C003-49EA-A787-EE71EAC99B37_1_201_a.jpeg

We produced around 37L of Shiso syrup this week 😁The syrup was packed in more than 100 of 250ml and 500ml bottles.

It may not sound much but it was a lot to do and to learn for us as it was our first production at scale ... many things were different from previous small productions of 10-20 sample bottles with Shiso from our garden.

Simply washing Shiso and removing them from stems took time 💦 Our bottling process was manual and not efficient ... for this process we will introduce a machine for the next batch 😉

D6F00D06-CEE3-4508-9528-CA95EB68AEAD_1_105_c.jpeg

AE0E9F51-F830-47F2-9472-FABDFA26E1F4_1_105_c.jpeg

Learning by doing, we will improve our process. That's a project, that's a startup 💪💪💪

Sort:  

Wow, looks great! I enjoy shiso a lot.

I see! You are in Japan. And you love Natto 🍚Me too! I make it by myself in Germany ... 😁
(Akiko @akipponn at @Gohan.Power)

@akipponn - That's impressive, making it by yourself. I make my own anko, and I've made attempts at making my own umeboshi, but I haven't tried nattō yet.

Congratulations @gohan.power! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP