Junk Food Above The Arctic Circle

in #food4 years ago

20191216_150947.jpg

Hello and welcome to The Northern Store in Igloolik, Nunavut, Canada. A remote island town in the Northwest Passage with a population around 1,600. Most people don't know anything about the arctic. "It's all Eskimos in igloos!" I've heard from people when we told them we were moving up north. But that's not true at all. Eskimos are a specific race of people in Alaska. The people of Igloolik are Inuit. And igloo is just the Inuktitut word for home or house. You live in an igloo, too. But one thing they weren't wrong about is the cost of food.

20191216_150915.jpg

Are you still hungry, man?

20191216_150901.jpg

Delivery? I think it's a ripoff!

20191216_150840.jpg

Do Ritz crackers dipped in chocolate taste good? At this price I refuse to find out!

Okay, so before I reveal this next item I feel like some explanations are in order. I am specifically showing you some of the most expensive items I can find just based on the prices I remember down south. These items are considered luxury goods with negligible nutritional value and therefore, aren't subsidized by the Nunavut Government. Our healthy foods, like vegetables, fruits, meat and dairy products along with a host of other high nutritional value goods are reasonably priced. By no means are they cheap, but they are reasonable. This next item is almost pure sugar and is heavy and bulky. We live in a place where two ships come per year to stock up the stores and the rest of the goods have to be flown in. Flying in items is extremely expensive.

20191216_150823.jpg

Twenty-nine Canadian pesos! That's right. If you enjoy the soda water I highly recommend shipping a soda stream up here. But be careful. The CO2 canisters for soda streams have to be shipped on a boat. They can't go in a plane.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you want more posts like this, drop me an upvote and leave a comment requesting a specific food item. I'll see if we have it.

Sort:  

Duuuuuude!
I thought stuff was expensive here...
I live in the remote mountains of Colorado. We DO have a couple of stores, but prices are considerably higher than if we go to the nearest 'city' about an hour away... or Denver is about 3 1/2 hours away.

And I totally get the soda being more expensive. It's taking up a lot of space for a little reward.

Thanks for sharing!
I'm always interested in this kinda thing.

And now... I know that people LIVE in the Artic Circle... so crazy.
I laughed... and then cried a little for you when I saw the price of the Ritz. We JUST got those the other day. They were actually pretty pricey at about $5. But surprisingly delicious.

Here's a free !COFFEEA
;)

I posted about this blog on my twitter, too. Follow me there to get updates on things north of 60. #posh

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

coffeea Lucky you @greatnorthcrypto here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness