Sweet Critiques: Chop House In A Castle

in #food6 years ago

653BC557-41DA-4BFA-BB3A-3C6C0106D475.jpeg

@mickeybeaves and I stayed in a suite in the fairmont Springs castle in Banff National Park for our wedding. The second night of our stay we had an amazing seafood dinner at a restaurant in the castle called the chop house. After our meal I of course had to try a dessert.

I chose to try a sour cherry tart, when I thing of a tart I picture a cookie crust encasing a fruit filling. When the tart cake to the table I was surprised to find a more pie looking dessert, but when I took my first bite I tasted a complete lack of fruit. The “tart” was all bread and had three little holes with a cherry compote filling them. It was garnished with Carmel and a little cherry compote on the side of the tart for appearance.

It was a little disappointing to have such a dry bready tart when I was expecting more filling as with most tarts. More compote in the tart would have balanced the dry bread crumbles. The breading in the tart was perfectly cooked but it wasn’t flakey and crisp like most tarts it was more like a thick pie crust. Overall I give it a C+ as a dessert.

40A18F36-6B0E-4838-A6A8-64273311D75E.jpeg

1A009629-77C6-4FC4-B854-3C02D0EE76DA.jpeg

Sort:  

Excellent desserts, greetings