Sweet Critiques: Ramsay Lounge In The Castle

in #food6 years ago

E772A574-6CDB-4A66-8EF8-9040259A4357.jpeg

The Ramsay Lounge In the Fairmont Springs Castle In the Banff National Forest is one of two little hang out areas in the caste, the Ramsay lounge is in the second part of the castle, where they serve food and drinks to people spending time there. While @mickeybeaves and @allisonfrija were having a drink I decided to try a chocolate tart. This chocolate tart was topped with sea salt olive oil, peppercorns a chocolate shaving and a creamy ice cream like chocolate on top which sounded like a interesting and unique find.

When the tart came to the table I was impressed with the presentation and my eyes were overwhelmed with the chocolate overload! My first bite was a mouthful of olive oil that slowly morphed into a rich chocolate taste, the tart crust was a brownie consistency and the chocolate filling was smooth. I wasn’t expecting so much olive oil and the taste of it was initially slightly unpleasant but it developed into a delectable chocolate delicacy.

As I kept eating I found aspects of the dessert I liked such as the sea salt in the chocolate and the creamy ice cream like chocolate on top of the tart as well as the chocolate brownie crust and the chocolate filling and shaving but the more I ate, the more potent the olive oil became. My distaste for the dessert kept developing and I couldn’t finish my last couple bites. Overall I would give the chocolate tart a B-. I think this dessert would pair better with a coconut oil instead of the olive oil!

10F5B335-E581-4890-9EEF-87E9A38C1AA1.jpeg

E7445808-B593-4FE8-A73A-F17AF38EDE61.jpeg