The Old Dog Has Bacon And Eggs For Dinner! Why Not!

in #foodlast year

Although I love Bacon and Eggs it's rarely on the menu. It's usually reserved for that rare Sunday when we have time to laze about or when ordering breakfast at a restaurant while abroad.

The other evening when my wife suggested that she make it for dinner I jumped at the offer! It was great!

Bacon, Eggs, toast, frizzantino and a salad! Fine evening dining!

How Did Bacon And Eggs Become So Popular?

  • Up until the 1920's Americans generally ate a light breakfast.
  • In the 1920s the Beech-Nut Packing hired Edward Bernays to help them sell more pork.
  • Bernays (Sigmund Freud's nephew) convinced over 4,500 physicians to endorse a heavier breakfast.
  • He published his "findings" in newspapers across the nation and presented "bacon and eggs" as the perfect choice!
  • A new fad was born!

What About You?

  • Do you like bacon and eggs?
  • Have you ever eaten them for dinner?
  • Would you ever do so?

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Do you like bacon and eggs?

Yes. Both.

Have you ever eaten them for dinner?

Yes. But mostly for breakfast and for lunch. I like them very much.

Good to know!

I love Bacon and eggs any time, and then !BEER as well!!

Wise choices!


Hey @kus-knee, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Appreciated!

Bon appetit friend

Thanks!

How I love bacon and eggs, but I believe it is the grease we crave. Enjoyed!

Sounds about right!

Good to see you ❤ @kus-knee, been a minute! :-)
I love bacon and eggs anytime of day!
Recently I watch a interesting documentary on Edward Bernays called,
The Century of the Self (Full Documentary) on youtube.
Its a few hours long but very eye opening!
Have a great day!

It does sound interesting. I'll have a look!

I don't eat meat any more, but it would never have been my first choice for an evening meal. Mind you, gammon and eggs is not much difference. There are various types of veggie bacon/facon. Some of those are not too bad. Bound to be healthier than pig strips.

Enjoy.

I'll be on the lookout for the elusive facon!

Bacon and eggs goes with most things 😉 I love it and Eather I eat bacon omelet or boiled egg and fried bacon.
So it is a good breakfast and dinner I think.

Have a wonderful week 🌹cheers

You're right!

Sounds like normal meal here but a lot less

I do love bacon and eggs, and with fried potatoes as you had it there. Maybe even a couple of fried mushrooms thrown in, for good measure. But it's a rare treat around here...

Growing up in Denmark it was an almost unheard of type of breakfast,

That said, we fairly regularly have "breakfast for dinner," and it often includes pancakes, bacon and maybe even a piece of fried chicken. Maybe that's a southern US thing, but I quite like it.

In Italian culture it's usually just a coffee and occasionally some dry biscuits or a croissant. Perhaps we should start having more breakfasts for dinner as well.

I love breakfast for dinner. One of my favorite meals!

Good to know that I'm not as weird as I thought!

I love breakfast for dinner!