Baked banana oatmeal (aka heaven in a bowl)

in #food4 years ago

Lately, oatmeal has been my favorite afternoon/after school snack. Plain oatmeal doesn't look and taste very special, but with some simple ingredients you can make it taste like HEAVEN!


©2020 - @lackofcolor



The cravings of an addict

The last couple of weeks I've been trying to gain a little bit of weight, but my body doesn't seem to completely agree with that. I can eat as much as I want, but my body can adjust just as quickly as I put things in my mouth. Don't get me wrong, most of the time I'm happy with my fast metabolism. But in times of stress I have to eat an extreme amount of food so I don't lose any weight.

You probably think that I'm a healthy girl that only take in nutritious foods when you look at my Steemit page. Well guess what? I'm a big sucker for crisps, pizza and desserts. I could live on these things all day every day and I even think that I'm slightly addicted to fried stuff as well. Too bad that those foods don't contain the nutrients that my body need, so I had to think of something healthier: baked banana oatmeal sounded like a pretty good idea to me.


Peel the... banana

Cooking oatmeal is like the most simple thing in the world:

Pour the milk of your choice into a pan (I used rice milk this time, but you could use almond milk or cow milk as well). Add the oat flakes and some cinnamon and wait until the mixture boils.

In the mean time, you can cut the banana into slices, heat up some butter in a pan and bake the slices until they're golden brown. If you want the banana to be extra sweet, you could add some brown sugar to the butter.

Pour the oatmeal into a large bowl once you find the consistency thick enough. Place the baked banana slices onto the oatmeal and sprinkle over some cinnamon to make the bowl look Instagram proof:D


©2020 - @lackofcolor


I hope I didn't make you drool too heavily with these photos;)

Lots of love,
Dymph

Sort:  

MMmmm this does look really good :) Oatmeal is so good for you! And of course while it is very bland it can also take on any flavor, so many ways to doctor it up.

Thank you Carl:D Yeah it's way more healthy than the fries that I eat lot, so I have to remind myself of that many times a week haha.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It looks very tasty! I usually accompany oatmeal with apple but banana is a good idea! 👌

Oehh, apple oatmeal is one of my favorites too:D Usually, I add some hot blueberries then as well.

I usually put butter and frozen berries to my oatmeal but that definitely doesn’t look too bad either 😁

Butter and berries? For some reason in my schemes they go against each other, but with further thinking, there's oat, butter and berries in a berry pie, so I guess why the fuck not.

I thought everyone in Finland puts butter and berries into porridge!

I have tried both them separately, I think I will go and get my mind blown later today with some oatmeal.

I don't think you'll be disappointed :)

My breath is getting heavier just by thinking about it.

I want a full review after you try it.

Haha, I was also surprised about the butter. But pie for breakfast could be my every day thing as well...

From now on I'm gonna call the butter + berries on oatmeal as the lazy man's pie.

Lol, that should become the official name.

Do you use frozen blueberries or other kind of berries? During winter I heat up my blueberries in a pan before I add them to my oatmeal. If you haven't tried that before, you really should now:D

I like blueberries and raspberries, and I prefer them frozen because it's fast and then I don't have to wait for the porridge to cool down before I can eat it 😆

Hahah, the lazy woman's oatmeal:p

Berries yes yes.

@lackofcolor those bananas look really good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! The banana slices were good^^

That does look yummy lol I wish I had your metabolism I have the exact opposite the moment I put something in my mouth that’s bad it’s game over lol! I do gain muscle pretty fast though but if I stop for a short period of time it all goes to crap so I’m constantly having to chase the dragon

Haha aww, but gaining muscles quickly could work in your advantage if you work out on a regular base!

Congratulations @lackofcolor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yum, looks really good!

Thanks a lot Kotturinn😁

I love me some oatmeal. Yummy.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment