Tiramisu cheers me up!

in #food5 years ago (edited)



This weekend I felt like baking a pie or something else sweet. Ironically, I didn't bake anything. Instead, I made a big bowl of tiramisu. You know, that famous Italian dessert with, among other things, liquor, coffee and mascarpone.

I went to the store and bought everything I needed, to found out at home that a mixer wasn't part of this particular kitchen (dear lord). I went to the neighbors to see if they owned a mixer that I could borrow, but unfortunately, they weren't at home at that moment. That meant I had to beat the eggs with my bare hands (as if it owed me money) and you probably can imagine what my arms felt like afterward. But in the end, it was more than worth the dead arm.

Officially, tiramisu is a dessert, but you can eat it as a snack as well (at least, I do so...). And did you know that tiramisu means something like 'cheer me up'? I think it fits the dessert pretty well because I was the happiest girl on earth after having just one bite.

Please don't get jealous after seeing those photos. I didn't have a bowl big enough for all of you.


©2019 @rubencress | Homemade Tiramisu



©2019 @rubencress | Homemade Tiramisu



The ingredients

I wrote down the recipe, in case you wanted to make this scrumptious tiramisu at home yourself.

  • 125 ml of coffee
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 40 grams of sugar
  • 500 grams of mascarpone
  • 3 ts of advocaat (egg liquor)
  • 2 ts of rum
  • 3 egg whites
  • 10 grams of sugar
  • 150 grams of ladyfingers
  • 1 ts of cacao
  • A casserole


©2019 @rubencress | Homemade Tiramisu



The recipe

And this is how you do it.

  • Make 125 ml coffee (about two cups) and let it cool down.
  • Beat the egg yolks with the sugar (40 grams) until it's a thich white cream.
  • Stir in the mascarpone, advocaat (egg liquor) and rum.
  • Beat the egg whites and gradually add the sugar (10 grams).
  • Fold the egg whites into the mascarpone mixture.
  • Pour the half of all your cream into the casserole.
  • Dip the ladyfingers in the coffee and place them next to eachother on the mascarpone mixture in the casserole.
  • Pour the rest of the mixture over the ladyfingers.
  • Place the casserole in the fridge and let it chill (preferably overnight).
  • Dust with cocoa before serving.


©2019 @rubencress | Homemade Tiramisu



©2019 @rubencress | Homemade Tiramisu


Et voilà, your homemade tiramisu is served! In exchange for a bite, Ruben was so kind to take photos of the dessert. After sprinkling some cacao, we were ready to have our dinner, as for dessert: there was a pizza waiting to be slaughtered.


Thank you for reading and if you try this at home; try to not eat the whole thing at once ;)

Lots of love,
Dymph

Sort:  

Oh...it looks sooo good! :) LOVE IT!

Thank you Tammy!😌

I don't think I'd be able to eat this. I'd want to display it on my coffee table, it looks so good. :)

Haha, I totally understand and I wish I could preserve it like this. Thank you for your comment!

This was horrible... people.. don't believe it... run away while you still can...IT'S A TRAP
It was super delicious! Thank you for making this...it's such a shame you can't take anything with you...

Hahah, you're such an ass.

Huh, what's that on your face Ruben? Ohh, some leftovers from licking your plate, because I didn't allow you to eat everything.

What plate? I ate that one as well, I thought there was some tiramisu in there...

I love Tiramisu, I've only made it once though.

Yours looks absolutely amazing, no wonder @rubencress had to lick his plate hahaha

You really should try out this recipe, it's so damn good! And I bet your photographs of the tiramisu will be awesome as well.

I might give it a go since holidays are approaching . . . sorta haha would be a good shareable meal!

There is no more plate left!

You gotta make her make some more haha

I just love Tiramisu.
Darn it! haha

Haha awhh, can you taste it through the screen?

Congratulations @lackofcolor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'm not sure if I have any lady fingers. Can I borrow yours? Also, I love coffee. Yum yum.

It would be nice if I could keep my fingers until I die. But you can have some cookies😌

Aww thanks. Geez, imagine if you had no fingers. I couldn't.

This cake I can eat lot :) And you know how to make this ? :))

Yeah, I made this myself.

My mom has her birthday soon and I was thinking of baking a cake, but now I'm thinking Tiramisu might actually be a better idea, it's so divine!!

Best idea ever. I've got a recipe for a tiramisu pie, which I find just as tasty as the real tiramisu. I can send you the recipe if you would like to have it😁

71B6D0E1-3382-4F84-B6A9-0CA94EE3E391.jpeg

I went with the traditional version and used your recipe as the base. I used coffee liquor for extra coffeeness (I know mom will like it and that is what I happened to have on hand), I did two layers of ladyfingers and then also added some whipped cream into the mascarpone to be a little extra. How will I be able to resist this until tomorrow 😭

Nice Eve! It looks so much better in a transparent casserole. Next time I'm gonna add an extra layer of biscuits as well.

Your mom is going to love this! I'm sure that, after tomorrow, she wants you to make this every year;)

I have never made tiramisu before but I tasted a lot...Looks like it's easy to make.....

You really should make tiramisu yourself some time, it tastes so much better than store bought. It's an easy recipe indeed, so chop-chop, get in the kitchen!;)

Haha.. Ya not too much element.. Will try this recipe this weekend..

Bellissimo!
Mai fai uno vegano? ;)

A volte mangio vegano:D

Guarda! Parli italiano...che bello ;)
E io volevo scrivere "Mi fai" , invece "Mai fai" come un thailandese :)
Dai, vieni a Berlino e mangiamo insieme vegano ;)
Buona giornata, Pimp-Na ;)

If I could do such tiramisu, I'd eat it all for myself ;) Nice description, I wonder what are ladyfingers... I hope it does not contain fingertips :D

Haha please don't, your belly won't be so happy afterward. But I see where you're coming from, making tiramisu at home is a dangerous thing!

Ladyfingers are some kind of biscuits which are shaped like, surprise, surprise, fingers:D

I don't know if making a cake in my country can be dangerous, but tiramisu is quite popular in Poland. Also, we have a mixer in almost every kitchen :)

Posted using Partiko Android

That would certainly cheer me up... in fact it did! :-)

Haha yayy my job is done here, even though you couldn't taste it.

This looks delicious. Now I am hungry.

I'm sorry for making you hungry. I hope you have something tasty at home (that lives up to this tiramisu;))

FANTASTIC!!


My wife and I were discussing making a batch of Tiramisu this weekend. Now, we have a new recipe to try!!!

Please do! Your wife will be more than pleased😁 And ofcourse, I would love to see the result.

Great stuff, looks incredible!

Thank you, I'm glad you like it!

The thing about seeing people write about food online, is that it creates a cognitive dissonance about my appetite. I wanna eat it, but I don’t have any.. Though, this does inspire some ideas.. I’ll get back to you on that. The photos do the dessert justice. Everything looks good.

For me, that means this post had the effect that it should have. Too bad that you couldn't taste some of it, taste/smell tv or screens would've been the perfect solution.

I would love to hear about your ideas some time! Thank you for the comment😊