We Ran Out Of Spices For Fried Chicken So This Is What We Used

in #food4 years ago

Spicy Biryani Fried Chicken Tenders

DSC_0051.jpg

We had some leftover chicken breasts from our last food adventure and it was oh so perfect for some chicken tenders or as the Americans call it, chicken fingers! I really did not have the usual seasonings/ spices so I had to get creative. We also had some crinkle cut fries to serve them with. We had a pack of Biryani seasoning in the pantry and so I decided to be adventurous and use that as the base! It was one of the best decisions of my life. I decided to call this Spicy Biryani Fried Chicken Tenders and it would be a family staple from now on!

The Recipe

2 tsp Biryani Seasoning
1/2 cup of flour
1/4 tsp of chili flakes
1 pinch of salt
2 tsp corn starch
2 tsp basil, rosemary, parsley each
1 egg

The cornstarch is supposed to help with the crispy outer batter/ crust as well as the egg. I literally just came up with this recipe on the spot but it was so good I just had to share it with you!

The Process

DSC_0001.jpg

First we mix all the dry seasonings with the flour in one bowl and set aside. In another bowl just put the egg and beat it until homogeneous. By now, for those of you who know, you might have guessed that we are using the double dip method! You are right! This in my opinion, gives the best and crispiest outer crust.

DSC_0010.jpg

While the oil is heating up, you can go ahead and slice up your chicken breasts into chicken finger like slices. Even though it may not be entirely possible, try your best to get then as evenly shaped as possible. I should mention here that you can soak the breasts in a salt and vinegar brine for at twenty minutes for extra tenderness and juiciness. After than you can season with black pepper as I did.

DSC_0017.jpg

Now it is time for the batter application! The double dip method requires you to designate one hand for wet (egg dipping) and one for dry (flour drenching). So first using one hand, coat the strip in flour, then use the next hand to dip in the egg. After that, dip the egg soaked strip back into the flour again using the other hand and so on.

DSC_0027.jpg

Once this is done for all strips, your oil should be sufficiently heated for frying. For these size and thinness of strips, I did not really time them, I just looked at the colour. So basically just fry them until golden brown and crispy! I also threy some crinkle cut fries in to at this point as a brilliant side dish with the chicken.

Pièce de Résistance

DSC_0032.jpg

Let the tenders drain and cool before eating! They were so crispy and wonderful I could not help but want to start eating right away! Look at how juicy and tender that looks! There was that lovely crispy outside and a juicy tender inside and the flavors were just a party in the mouth! I don't know why I haven't tried using biryani spices before, honestly. I definitely recommend trying this out, if you did feel free to let me know how it tasted! Thanks a lot for reading, Cheers!

DSC_0087.jpg

BANNAHMAN.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yummm! The chicken tenders look delicious!

They were! Thank you! 😁