Soft Fruit

in #food4 years ago

IMAG1035.jpg

Behind the rosemary bush, I found a little clutch of these. Little wild strawbs that have the tiniest bit of flavour but aren't a particularly satisfying snack otherwise. I may try cultivating them next year, give them some food and see if they can get any bigger or if this is as good as you get.

Don't know how they got there, I certainly didn't put them there on purpose and don't remember seeing them before now - I would expect them to grow like a weed anyway. Ah well natures mysteries...

In sadder news I realised that some of my onions had bolted and started to grow a flower bud. I may let one of them go fully to seed and keep them for the next season, the others I'll decapitate and hope that they grow a little more. I had been worried that I was over-watering them so left them for a couple of days and clearly they didn't have enough juice. Fortunately spring onions are totally a thing, so I had one with my dinner last night and it was good.

Sort:  

That's a tiny strawb. We are getting a good crop from our plants. We could do with some rain though as the butts are emptying fast.

Congratulations @lloyddavis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It is a great satisfaction to eat the fruit of our harvest, it is incredible.
Greetings, have a happy week