Creamy Chicken Black Lentil Soup.

in #food4 years ago

Digging up my pantry, I just realized that I store a lot of things since the pandemic hit. I went over some lentil that was there for quite some time, although there is no expiration date in it, but I thought is better to make some soup and empty up my storage.

s.jpg

Chicken tenderloin would be the perfect meat for my soup, some veggies, chop one big potato, grated gruyere cheese, mild cheddar cheese, parmigiano reggiano cheese also a little bit of heavy cream.

I made the stock earlier this afternoon by cook the tenderloin, bay leaves, fresh garlic, stem rosemary and onion in slow cooker for two hours while we went to the park.
I take all the tenderloin out and shred with the fork, then strain the stock and set aside to cook the soup.

In a pot, saute some chopped onion until it fragrances and add the stock along with cut vegetables (celery, carrot, potato, string beans) and also the lentil. Add salt, garlic powder, black pepper and dried basil, let it boil and simmer for 20 minutes until everything is cooked.

In another pot, just like making roux, mix all grated cheese and add it into the vegetables pot and add the shredded chicken tenderloin. Ready to serve.

ss.jpg

Our dinner meal, Braised beef in spinach and artichoke pesto and a simple spaghetti in tomato basil for carbs.

Thank you for visiting my blog.
@lugina.

Sort:  

As always, very good. They cook very well. Here in Germany everything has to happen quickly, when someone is working, there is little time to cook. I see everything fast food from the freezer on my children. 🥣

Here too. Most of them work, by the time they get home they are too tired. Frozen food such an easy solution and do that once in awhile.

Very good soup. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I will try this recipe at home with my family.

Yes, you should ..

That is both tasty and nutritious @lugina.
I wish that my parents can cook varied dishes but they only can cook the same meal everyday :(

Thank you,
It reminds me of grandma, she did the same thing too. I do miss her old fashioned foods.