Is a pumpkin a berry?

in #food3 years ago

Sometimes the question arises of what is a pumpkin - is it a vegetable or a berry? According to the nerds, it is rather a berry, exactly the same as tomatoes or watermelons. But for a gardener or a cook, it is rather a vegetable. It is practically impossible to pinpoint the origin of the pumpkin, because it is actively grown on almost all continents.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9Uwvgnd4wQwHNk9r6PF9Tvzrz2BDqHWjqTAJXD39RMbijFTu1HQ5inZmCFVwzLUKdpf9irXDVaQdLkn.jpg

Every year in the summer (in the fall) I make pumpkin juice for the winter. My children like it so much that out of all the variety of blanks, pumpkin juice ends up the fastest.
I decided to share my recipe with you, maybe someone will like it.
sugar, water and citric acid I indicate approximately. If the pumpkin variety is very sweet, then I do not add sugar at all. In other cases, I add to taste.
Also with the amount of water: if someone loves the juice thicker, then add less water, if thinner, then, accordingly, more water.

Wash the pumpkin, cut in half. Use a large spoon to remove seeds and fibers.
Now I cut the pumpkin into smaller pieces and peel it.
I cut the prepared clean pieces of pumpkin into small pieces and put them in a saucepan.
I add a little water to the pan and cook until soft. I add a little water to the bottom of the container (about 0.5 liters) so that the pumpkin does not stick and cook faster due to steam.
By the time the pumpkin is cooked for about 20 minutes (but it may take more time - it all depends on the type of pumpkin).
I pass the cooled pumpkin through a juicer (for me it passes with the pulp). You can use a meat grinder, blendor.
It turns out a thick pumpkin puree.
I put the mashed potatoes again in the pan in which the pumpkin was boiled. I dilute the puree with water (as you like: thicker or thinner, about 1 liter). I add sugar to taste and bring to a boil, boil for no more than five minutes. The exact amount of sugar cannot be specified, since pumpkin varieties are very different for sweetness.
At the end of cooking, add citric acid (also to taste), stir.
I pour the hot juice into cans and bottles. I roll up cans with iron lids
A delicious and healthy homemade drink is ready for the winter.

tikvennii-sok-s-kuragoi-foto.jpg