Petchay Omellete (Very cheap recipe)

in #food3 years ago

I had a chance to make a new recipe from one of my favorite vegetables. Petchay also known as Chinese Cabbage was a common leaf vegetables in the Philippines. It has a wide leaves and it's body was like with threads and water inside. No wander why this vegetables has that kind of watery body type 'cause the farmer needed this plant to give enough water to have a bigger and more volumized appearance.

I usually see farmers planting this vegetables during summer season. Since I lived in a province, I can bought a freshly picked petchay and it really taste good. It has a kick of sweetness but make sure not to over stir petchay 'cause it can make your recipe a bit bitter. So here is an easy recipe that anyone can do at home. Let get started!

For the batter:

20210226_143205.jpg

I've measured 1 cup of flour, 1 egg, salt and water. The water will depend on what consistency you prefer. Give a good mix to combine all the ingredient and set aside.

20210226_143245.jpg

20210226_143322.jpg

Cut petchay into small portions and saute it with garlic over medium high heat setting. Add some seasonings and do not add water. Let the petchay water comes out from it and allow it to cool. Do not overmix at this stage.

Now combine petchay and the batter. Ready your pan and put some oil. For crispier version, I suggest that you put generous amount of oil. Scoop 1 tbsp of the mixture, flip both sides till golden brown.

20210226_143413.jpg

You can put it on a paper towel to absorb excess oil. Deep with ketchup and best serve while hot. This is my finish recipe and I liked how it looks. Slight crisp but soft and chewy. Hope you could try it. Thanks for dropping by, keep safe and have a happy weekend.❤

20210226_144313.jpg