Curried Shrimp @senseicat

in #food6 years ago

This is a mild but very flavorful curry dish, making it ideal for a brunch or luncheon and lovely chafing dish fare for large groups. You may prepare the sauce a day ahead.

1/2 cup minced onion
5 Tbsp. butter
5 Tbsp. flour
1 tsp. curry powder
1 tsp. dry mustard
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup water
2 tsp. catsup
2 cups milk
3 cups cooked shrimp (crab or chicken may be substituted)

curried shrimp.png

Cook onion in butter until tender. Combine dry ingredients and stir into onion and butter with a whisk. Add broth, water, and catsup, stirring over low heat until warm. Add milk while stirring and cook until smooth and thickened.

Just short of serving time, reheat the sauce and add the shrimp to heat through but do not boil. Provide the following condiments in separate dishes:

coconut.jpg

1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup toasted whole almonds
1 cup of chutney

For a pretty, buffet, add a large bowl of fluffy white rice, a platter of butter lettuce leaves, with the curried shrimp, and the added condiments.

Source: Private Collection by Junior League of Palo Alto

Remember to upvote and resteem please @senseicat

Sort:  

This is an awesome dish. Love it but I am to make it I will refer the crabs instead of the shrimps. The chicken won't fit in the dish, it is more of a sea food dish. But this is a lovely dish, I am so new to this platform but seeing your post as the first really made me want to stay here longer than I thought. Nice dish

Welcome @dragonson to Steemit! This is my first social media site experience and truly love it so I hope that you will enjoy it too. Thank you and I appreciate your comments.

upvote and resteem 💜

Many thanks! Excellent article on Litecoin @jahangirwifii

senseicat..Would you like to add me on your friend list?

nice food..upvote@reesteem done

Thank you so much and I hope that you will enjoy it. I appreciate the resteem too.

wow ! your Curried Shrimp @senseicat is the great recipe . i love this.

Thank you so much and hopefully you will have a chance to enjoy it with family and friends.

I am so hungry at this moment...

I can imagine.

This post has received a 0.51 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @jahangirwifii.

Wow, that is super cool. Thank you very much!

It's really tasty dish upvote@resteem 👍🏻