Vegetarian Buffet for Meat Eaters in LiShui (丽水) China

in #food5 years ago

I don’t always eat vegetarian but when I do, it’s a first-class buffet at a thrifty price US$3

With over 80 dishes, most of them hot and 100% nonmeat, there was bound to be something I’d love, and there was. The cleanliness and ease of getting the food was particularly enticing. It took me a couple tries to find the place oddly. The first time I was following someone who had no idea where he was going while we were biking around town. Eventually, he gave up telling me it was closed. The second time I discovered it by asking a friend who lived nearby where I last tried had ended.

I love meat, by no means am I a vegetarian but that doesn’t mean I don’t also love some good vegetable dishes. My palate has a taste for most things not gross. I thought my guest to Lishui would like to eat something new so we took a chance and got there just twenty minutes before it closed. The selection was still full and we got a discount on top of the already low price. We paid US$2 each or 12 RMB each. Never have I been so satisfied eating at such a low price, except for one of the soups, it was truly awful, it was roots of some sort and I doubt any non-Chinese person would like it other than taking it as medicine, photos below.

The best part of this discovery is that this restaurant is only about a 10-minute bike ride from my home. Another great part of this restaurant only two times a day serves food, lunch time and dinner time. This is great to ensure the food is fresh and always at its best. Don’t you hate going to a buffet and some dishes have been sitting there for hours and has lost its appeal? Well, here you’ve got a team of workers making sure you’re getting the best food possible.

Please see photos and descriptions from this point on.


(Hot Hot Hot Dishes!)


(Some type of dumpling tasted like and had the texture of some mystery meat, probably a tofu thing)


(Fried noodles, rice and something I was too late to try)


(Cooked veggie deliciousness)


(These were sweet, like a weird purple potatoe with a hint of peanut butter)


(The awful root soup I mentioned, I'm sure folklore says it will give me eternal life and strong childbearing abilities, lol. I thought it was ginseng, maybe it was.)


(I was still there after it closed and saw the ladies already preparing for the dinner service, very impressed.)


(The End, "GTFO", haha", they were very polite with the people who left after they closed.)

Just another day in China, The other side of the planet.

Sort:  

Delicious! Chinese foods are one of the best foods in the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I do love Chinese food. I could eat something different for every meal for a year and never eat the same thing twice.

Not bad for $3 USD buffet. That seems like a purple yam dumpling filled with peanut butter. Some Chinese restaurants here use purple yam as filling for mooncakes too. That must be good!

That looks like a pot of Ginseng tea. It might taste better mixed with citrus or anything sweet otherwise it would taste awful lol. True, Ginseng has medicinal and stimulant properties and also used as aphrodisiac.

$3! wow!

Chinese food is definitely delicious - in fact, all asian food is great ! The best I had was in Taiwan and Vietnam, the worst was in Myanmar!

I also like most Asian cuisine but I haven't tried Myanmar yet.