Restaurant Review - Che Taco in San Telmo, Argentina

in #food7 years ago



I used to do restaurant reviews on GooglePlus for tourists visiting Buenos Aires, Argentina from all English speaking countries. Now I figure I should Steem them!




Before I tell you about this wonderful food heaven, a couple things about Argentina should be made clear. There is nothing spicey it this country. You won't see pepper provided on any table in any restaurant, and I have only ever seen five places serving Mexiacn food, of which three are closed now. As most of you know, I have been living here for nearly seventeen years, divorced for seven, with two teenagers, and we like Mexican!

Authenticity in decor, plates, furniture and food



Che Taco is not a luxurious place to eat. It brings home made authentic Mexican food to a country where variety is scattered few and far between. One side of the menu includes over ten different hot sauces, all of which I have not tried as of yet except Jabanero (brought in by the owner from Mexico). Yeah, I am stuck on Jabanero!

They offer a wide variety of fresh juices on ice - we had watermelon today. They have at least twenty mixed drinks along with a small selection of wine, and of course soda and flavored water for the kids.

Price

Argentinian money, the peso, has no stable value. Currently, u$s10 gets you $150 pesos. Recently a dinner for five, including a massive appetizer of Nachos, five dinners, and drinks cost $1000 (which is about u$s64.00

Take a look at the menu. If you see Nachos Really Macho for $150 - yeah, that's ten bucks*. (Nachos bien Machos)




No, the menu is not in English, but everyone in the restaurant speaks very good English. (selected pictures of various plates below)



The Food

We ate outside on and I snapped a shot of the store front.



The food is all made here, the tortillas are formed and made in house. None of the food is spicey on purpose for the kids sakes (and for the Argentinians - see above)

Warning: Food Pictures Next. I hope you are not dying for lunch right now

My plate - then some other examples of what you saw on the menu.


ChilaquilesBurrito
KekasChicken Tacos
Beef Corn TacosBeef Flour Tacos

The Kekas could be referred to as the "Moose-Buster"

It's like two flat burritos, and when my 14-year-old ordered it, I was warned that it's a meal for two. Well that was the first 6 times we went - now they know he can put it away. Barely.



Che Taco - Hours

The are open from 7:00 p.m. - Midnight six days per week.
And Sunday from 1:00 p.m. - 6:00

Sunday is the only day I can eat at a reasonable dinner time without cooking. We got there at 5:00 and were eating by 5:30 - walking in the evening heat by 6:30.

That's another thing about Argentina. Though Bk and Macs are swamped between 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m., most Argentinian restaurants don't even open until 8:00 p.m.. If you are the first in, you still won't eat until at least 8:45 - and that makes for a very full feeling before bed.

Che Taco is up and running at 7:00 on weekdays - a tad late for me - but doable.


So why is it called "Che Taco"

"Che" is an Argentinian expression which can be inserted in any of these sentences for a contextual idea of the meaning; talking to friends, a small child or a jerk in a bar.

  • hey what do you want to do tonight.
  • It's okay. Listen buddy, you don't have to cry.
  • Listen pal you better shut up or you will be wearing that beer!

I think the owner, David Quevedo, who is a Mexican national, wanted to add an Argentina-ism to the name in order warmly welcome Argentinians as well as to attract the tourists. You can see him there behind the counter.



Location

The restaurant is in the heart of the neighborhood San Telmo on Balcarce street - one block over and parallel to the main shopping street, Defensa. So if you are visiting, and you find yourself on Defensa, in crowds so thick that you can't breath, take a detour one block towards the river and hit-up Che Taco. You won't be disappointed.













*all food was eaten by me and my immediate family - the pictures are my original cam-clicks.

Sort:  

Great job! I love the way you put the context all together with your pictures. When I am in Buenos Aires, I will stop by Che Taco.

Hello @sponge-bob,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.017 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thanks! I appreciate it - I will follow you guys too!

Fantastic post. We share the same problem here in Chile, bland food. I wish we had a Mexican restaurant so bad. STEEM ON!

Glad you enjoyed the review. I have to eat somewhere for some time before I will sit down and write them up.
I make most of my own variety. I actually know how to make the corn tortillas (it can made from Maizena).

I used to place people in jobs world wide. I know that your currency fell apart well before ours did - hehe. I hope you are into cryptos and metals like me.

I was looking for more info and I found the owner's facebook page. I can't see it because I don't have a facebook account!




"Not Now" -CLICK