Cattle Market Espresso from White Rose Coffee

in #food3 years ago

About a month ago bought some coffee from @whiterosecoffee which is run by @c0ff33a, who happens to also be a Hive witness (vote for him!). I got some of his special Hive coffee and also got some Cattle Market Espresso. The former worked nicely with my cafetiere, but for the latter I am using my Moka pot.

Cattle Market

I am a fairly new convert to the Moka pot after a trip to Italy where our apartment had one. You get espresso strength coffee from it, but I tend to make an Americano by adding hot water. It may still be quite strong, but I am not sure how many shots it is equivalent to. You can order this coffee in various forms to suit whatever equipment you have. I am looking to get a coffee grinder so I can start with the actual beans.

Moka

I quite like the mechanical aspect of the Moka. You have to assemble it each time after filling with water and priming with coffee. Then you just wait for it to bubble through until you hear is wheeze as it gets the last of the water through.

This is a few different coffee to the Hive one. The tasting notes say "In the cup look for a lemony character, hints of butter caramel and sweet chocolate orange". I find it a slightly smokey taste, but not in a bad way. I am no expert on coffee, but I am open to trying different types. I will be ordering some more soon as I cannot see this lasting me long.

Cup

You can buy coffee from @whiterosecoffee using crypto if you like.

Hive five!

Sort:  

No milk and sugar? I need to order some more from @c0ff33a, the free sample came and went very quickly.

I've been drinking my coffee straight for a while. I decided it would be good to just enjoy the actual taste. Took a while to wean myself off those.

I don't think I could do that, sometimes coffee tastes like tobacco to me.., a strange connection but not uncommon.

I guess it has to be fresh. I'm keeping mine in the fridge. I've seen some say you should not as it absorbs other flavours, but it's a compromise as it takes me a while to get through a bag.

I must have been drinking some old bad stuff, than link does reveal some info about it.

That kind of reminds me of the old camp coffee pots that they used to have. You could put it right in your fire to have coffee. My dad used to have one. I also bought my dad a French press a long time ago. He used it for a while, but now they have a Kuerig.

I don't think I have ever made coffee on a camp fire, but you could with this. It's a very clever design that does the work of putting how water through the coffee at pressure like the big machines. I find it works very well. I am the only coffee drinker in the house and am not going to buy a big, expensive machine for it.

Yeah, I wish I liked coffee, but I don't.

Well I don't like tea :)