Cashew cream with green herbs

in #food6 years ago

Today's recipe is somewhat new to my family. I've prepared the cream for the first time a few weeks ago. You will see how fast and simple it is to prepare and I am convinced that it'll sweeten your heart immediately!

This recipe is meant as a replacement of the classic cheese with greens, not only for those who are lactose intolerant, but also for those who want (or have already adopted) a vegan and/or raw vegan lifestyle. And not just that! I would say that it's an excellent idea even for omnivores, I bet the kids will be very excited :P

You can serve cashew cream with greens at breakfast, along with fresh vegetables, snacks or even on a plateau assorted with elegant appetizers, why not? Accompanied by small pieces of bread and beautifully decorated, cashew cream with greens has great chances to become the star of all festive meals!

I've given the "basic" version here, but you can improve and customize your recipe by adding your favorite spices: turmeric, pepper, sesame / ground cumin seeds, etc. Cashew cream is good to eat as soon as we finish preparing it, but its flavors are much better after letting it rest in the refrigerator for about 2 hours. Close the cream in a hermetic glass container (a jar is ideal) to help the ingredients borrow flavors from each other.

You do not necessarily need a vegan diet to give it a chance! Try it once you have time and you may find a replacement for classic cheese. Or, at least, you can start eating less ordinary cheese.

Step 1 (Preparing the ingredients)

We'll need:

  • 300 gr cashew (hydrated overnight)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of inactive yeast flakes
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • juice from ½ lemon
  • a few parsley leaves
  • a few leaves of chive
  • 60-70 ml water (or how much you'd like to get the desired consistency)

Step 2 (Prepare your utensils)

You need a suitable bowl, a blender and a lemon Squeezer.

Step 3 (Put the ingredients (except green leaves) in a suitable bowl)

Pour the liquid ingredients in the bowl: water, lemon juice and olive oil, then add the rest of the ingredients.

Blend well until we get the finely mixed paste, add a little more water if you want a more fluid consistency and salt to taste.

When it's blended properly, we're going to chop the green leaves for the next step.

Step 4 (Chopping the green leaves)

I usually add green parsley in almost any dish, but this is my personal touch, you can add your favorite green leaves.

Incorporate the chopped greens and it's ready :)
Enjoy!

If you like my recipe, do not hesitate to leave a comment on my blog. Do not forget that you also have the opportunity to resteem the recipe, to help those who need it. Thank you!

Sort:  

m.... looks yummy..... and I know it should definitely tasty... because everything tasty with cashew.... your post is very informative and photographs are perfect..... thank you for sharing with us...

I am so glad you liked it!
I do hope you give it a try, thanks so much for stopping by @thusitha

It should be delicious

It iiisssss !! :D Please give it a try when you can, and provide feedback, I bet it'll be worth the effort. Thank you for your comment <3

excellent friend recipe, you have my support, I hope to have your support greetings

Thanks a lot for your comment @miguelitro, upvoted and followed :P

thanks, we are here to support us. regards

This is makes sense. I am salivating already.

I feel you @toluene, it was a great discovery for me too the first time I've tried it :P I urge you to do the same, it tastes better than the pics ;)

Wow wow. This dish is very attractive

I agree, you have to try it. Thanks a lot for your support @marrya !

Of course, I think this will be a great meal in my weekend menu.

@veganfamily I love how your photos are so detailed, step by step and precise. Keep posting. I'd love to see more of your food post. I love to cook to and I'm blogging my recipes here on steemit. Definitely followed and upvoted you. See you around and happy cooking! :)

@cookntell thanks a lot for your support, followed and upvoted. I've seen your blog and you have some wonderful articles! It means a lot to me to get your appreciation, thanks again <3

You're welcome @veganfamily. I saw that you have potentials and I love your food presentation too. It's very unique & artistic. You definitely have a talent I could say. Those photos you have, I can only imagine how much time you spent on taking that right angle for that particular photo while mixing the stuff or holding a ladle then redo it again. Haha! I know how it goes. Making a very detailed food presentation takes a lot of time & effort. There's so much effort just to make a good high quality content that's why I really appreciate your post. :) So keep posting and be consistent. That's a free tip from me. Hehe. Good luck! And will see you again on your next food post. :) XOXO

Wow lezato,yummy

Thanks @teukuamirullah, it's more yummy when you try it for yourself ;)

I have to try this. Looks amazing =)

Congratulations @veganfamily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Greetings know my beautiful sister thank you very much!

Thanks for share this recipe
tenor.gif
327580.gif

Congratulations @veganfamily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for liking my post!
It is a real pleasure reading yours and seeing your excellent photos.
Wonderful work!!

thanks for your support

i love the food and this looks really tasty dish.
will you ever try to make indian recipe..?

Congratulations @veganfamily! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @veganfamily! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @veganfamily! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for the nice sharing, I followed you. I would appreciate it if you would come to visit my profile sometimes🖐️

looks gorgeous. good luck to you.

Loading...