FOOD | Baking | Spelty Breakfast Rolls

in #foodie4 years ago (edited)

Another one.

Have you ever just had an enormous craving for baked goods? Not any type of baked goods tho, but the kind that, when they come out of the oven, fill the entire surrounding space with a mouth-watering, delicious pinch of heaven? A smell so delicious that it throws you back to your childhood and your grandma who used to bake all the time - even though those memories might not even exist? The kind that are so light, so healthy, so tasty?

Well I have.

And these spelty rolls are and do exactly that.

I read somewhere that our carb intake should consist of mostly complex carbohydrates, which are found in foods such as vegetables, whole wheat, sweet potatoes, etc. And that we should try to avoid, or at least minimise, simple carbohydrates, which are found in foods such as white bread, sodas, candy, pomfrit, cookies, etc. Basically - and please don't misunderstand me - we should avoid the white and go for the colours. White sugar, white bread, white sugar in sodas, etc. should be avoided (or minimised).

Why? Well, the body uses a lot more time breaking down the longer chains of the complex carbohydrate , than they do with the simple carbohydrate chains. Again, I apologise for my lack of more awesome English. Anyway, the time spent breaking down these chains, has to do with our energy levels and when we begin to feel that aching sensation of pain from our stomach asking, or maybe yelling, for more food.

Have you ever noticed how you can end up eating maybe 5-6 slices of white bread, and still be hungry in a couple of hours? THAT has to do with the above mentioned non-professional kind of advice. But after having eaten a block of tofu or a huge plate of Chili sin carne, or beans, you feel ready to conquer the world? After a mini-break just sitting by the kitchen table, of course.

These spelty rolls contain lots of protein and fiber. Good for your visible or invisible abs, good for your bowel movement, good for your soul. And good for your biceps and triceps if you end up kneading the dough by hand.




95343600_293555754969490_819966289677123584_n.jpg




Now, let's talk about me for a while.

I haven't always been eating healthy. And to this day, I don't pass up the oppurtunity to lick the entire brownie bowl and spatula and maybe a few huge spoonfulls of the raw batter as well. I mean, it's delicious, come on. But - everything in moderation. Anyway - I grew up eating meat for dinner, and throughout the day, for 6-7 days a week. And the occasional fish dish.

Mainly tho, the dinners at home consisted of meat. Red meat, dried meat, fried meat, cooked meat, grilled meat, grilled on a homemade, engine-turning, cut-in-half oil barrel (because recycle), and more fried meat. If it could be fried, we fried it. If it couldn't be fried, we still fried it. Fried chicken wings, fried calf snitzels, fried cauliflower, rolled and fried pancakes, fried masked potato mini-sausages (or as you may know them - croquettes), fried chicken breast.

After reading this, you might think that the fryer was our most prized possession. And ask yourself how come not all of us haven't gotten heart diseases yet or high af cholesterol. You're not alone. I've asked myself those questions as well. But praise the Lord, our arteries are ok! Why, you might ask. Well, my mom used to make healthy side dishes (and by the grace of God, as I have no other explanation). And during the last 5-10 years or so, she's been adding healthier food on the plate. While I was away, studying or taking shrooms on a beautiful bench near a canal (sidenote: I joke about my past now. Beautiful coping mechanism), she introduced meatless days to the family. Image the smile on my face when I found out!

When I left my childhood home to study, I was no longer that interessed in eating meat. Initially, I didn't do it because I loved animals, or because I hated the idea of cattle being bred solely for the purpose of ending up on our plate (and even cloned). I just didn't want to eat it as much. The highlight of my month tho, was when my monthly scholorship came, and I would go to the nearest grocery store and get myself a 250ish gram (yes, no pound here) steak, some potatoes and heavy cream. And vegeta (for those of you here on Hive who're familiar with the delicious, mainly-salt based spice).

And so it went on. I started eating less and less meat, more and more healthy (except for the au gratin potatoes which I still eat today, only with oat milk instead of heavy cream. Still delicious, I might add). I met people who were vegetarians, who were vegan, who taught me a lot of sh*t about the meat, and fish, industry. I read more and more. And - and this might be due to the amounts of acid and shrooms that I've taken in the past - one day I just said no.

I came to the realisation that animals have feelings. Again, I don't know exactly how, it might be due to the above mentioned hypothesis, but I began to experience their feelings. I was now able to approach a horse - mind you, the horse was behind a fence, I'm not that 'cured' of my mini-fear towards horses. I would even pet dogs. I would even sit in the same car as a huge af dog, with its head close to mine. And my fear of dogs developed when I was barely 5-6 old, on a snowy hill, with my skies on, sitting there sick and tired of falling, unaware of the two dogs running down the hill with their owner, straight towards me and finally ending up jumping over me. It was horrible. I think I cried. Maybe screamed.

Most of my childhood memories before and after that moment are blacked out - until another day, when my mom and I were on our way to kindergarden, and again there was snow, we were going down the road and suddenly I heard it, the deep and loud af breathing of the black dog which stood behind us, drool coming out of its mouth. No attack this time tho. A WIN for me. Anyway, I'm a lot less fearful and judgemental towards several animals I used to be afraid of. I meet them on another level now. I don't know. It's difficult to explain. AND MOST IMPORTANTLY - I'm not recommending acid and shrooms as a cure for one's fear of dogs or any other animals.

And so, the recipe. And pictures. Not good, but ok pictures.



95939599_2562075364016061_1537475726486274048_n.jpg
FYI. This dough takes about 20 min to rise - if your kitchen is warm af and all the air vents have been shut down. Or off


95614646_666563660805118_9160273976524537856_n.jpg
I used a 23cm/9inch glass bowl - which in retrospect I realise that I shouldn't have. So use a bigger bowl, or use half of the dough. I used a bit more flaxseeds and flour than mentioned in the recipe tho


96147654_245644713305093_6805388028542976000_n (1).jpg
Tip: Use a pair of scissors and make an x or | on top. Or don't. They still taste the same


95343600_293555754969490_819966289677123584_n.jpg

96298393_979297865819756_2622026780579463168_n.jpg


Servings: 12 rolls
Time: about 1 hour (kneading, rising, rolling, baking)

Ingredients

1 dl water
3 tbsp flaxseeds

50 g dried yeast (or fresh)
1 tsp powdered sugar
1 dl water

5 1/2 dl water, lukewarm-warm-ish
1/2 dl cooking oil (don't use canola oil, as it's not sustainable)

8-9 dl spelt flour (the finest kind, or you can mix different kinds)
2 dl oatmeal
1 tsp salt

1-2 dl all-purpose flour

1/2 dl vegetable milk (for brushing)
seasme seeds, oatmeal etc. for topping


Instructions

  • Soak the flaxseeds in the water for about 15 min
  • Mix the yeast and the sugar together with the water, and let it rest until the beautiful yeast bubbles pop up af
  • In a food processor with the kneading mechanism on, add the dry ingredients along with the flaxseeds and water, yeast and water and oil, and switch it up. Leave the food processor on for 15 min. The dough should be given enough time for the gluten to do its magic. If you're allergic to gluten, substitute the spelt flour and oatmeal for gluten free ones, and make sure to place a mini-baking tray filled with water at the bottom of your oven before the spelty breakfast rolls are ready to go in the oven
  • Do the dishes, clean, read a book
  • Pour the dough into a bowl, cover with a sheet which is more sustainable than my stupid choice of a plastic wrap, and leave it be for about 20 min
  • Do more dishes, clean more, read more of that book of yours
  • On the kitchen bench, pour some flour all over the place before scraping out the dough. It should be watery - as the extra all-purpose flour with firm it up. At least a bit. Use more flour if necessary
  • Knead the dough and shape into balls before placing them evenly spread out on a baking paper-covered baking tray
  • Leave the spelty rolls in peace for about 20 min. Cut up the top with a pair of scissors if you want. Brush them with vegetable milk
  • Do more dishes, clean some more, finish your book
  • Bake in a preheated oven for 19 min at 225 ˚C. Then, let them cool on a cooling rack before you devour these beauties

Tips, Tricks etc

  • Add sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds etc to the dough. Or don't
  • Make sure the dough doesn't 'over-rise', as this may result in thin, flattened rolls. Or chubby pancakes
  • Add enough all-purpose flour for the dough to firm up - or else, you might end up with chubby pancakes

Enjoy.



Did you know?

Nuts and seeds are healthy. They provide you with the healthy fats - the mono- or unsaturated kinds - which have actually been proven to lower cholesterol. Also, nuts and seeds may reduce depression. Even though flaxsseds contain a rather smal amount of fiber, the seeds will do their magic on your bowel movement. I heard, and read, somewhere that starting your day with yoghurt and flaxsseds will really flush your system. Haven't tried it with soya yoghurt tho

Spelt flour contains 15 g of protein per 100 g. That was the average number I found online.
8-9 dl spelt flour = 480-540 g = 72-81 g protein / 12 spelty rolls = about 6-7 g protein per spelty roll





People often use projection during conversations. In psychology, projection refers to displacing one's feelings onto another person. Or - instead of dealing with one's own feelings, said feelings are projected onto another and then the 'attack' comes.
Have you ever noticed how you can be stressed af and then let that stress and anger out on another person even if all they did was just say hello?

Sort:  

Congratulations @softcaramel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!

Hi @hivebuzz, and thank you! Gotta upvote those intro posts :)

You're welcome @softcaramel! You are on the right track - Great job! Support is always very much appreciated 🙂

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you :)

good eat Breakfast

Thank you :)