I made homemade beer

in #foodies2 years ago

I got a set like this for my birthday:

image.png

So I started producing my own beer. First brew (and so will be the second) made from extract (brewkit). However I decided to improve the standard recipe a bit.

My friends and I sat down with a beer and started the process. I won't describe the whole production, because who wants can find it on YouTube, but hygiene is very important here. A little bit of dust and you can contaminate the beer and spoil it. That's why we wash the buckets with a special disinfectant OXI in the bottom left corner of the photo.

IMG-3393.jpg

After boiling it looks very interesting and smells great. To improve the taste, I changed the yeast added by the brewkit manufacturer to the popular US-05. And I replaced the usual sugar with sugar tablets to measure the amount well. Too much sugar is a risk of bottles exploding.

IMG-3394.jpg

Well, all you have to do is set the beer aside for a quiet and then a stormy fermentation (two weeks total) and you can bottle. Using the capper from the kit is pretty fun. Different fermentation temperatures are required for different beers. During the warm months, most can be put in the cellar or garage.

IMG-3395.jpg

And then the most important point - the taste. A very good, fresh, summer beer came out. Maybe not on the level of the best krafts, but much better than all the cheap beers from stores. If I were to compare the quality, it would be a Grolsch with a plus :) The only drawback that I need to work on next time is a rather small gas. The beer was outgassing a little faster than the store bought beer. I probably added too few sugar tablets for fear of explosion. It will be much better now.

IMG-3573.jpg

I'll make my next beer again with brewkit, but I'll improve the flavor even more because I bought citra hops. The next step will be a beer made from mash, and that's a few hours of fun, but it's already approaching more professional brewing.

image0.jpg

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)