Homestead food preservation | Green Tomato Jam

in #foodiesbeehive2 years ago (edited)

Many times before I've heard people talking about green tomato jam and about how delicious it is. Honestly I didn't believe that- until I've tried it today. It surprised me in such a positive way.

IMG_20211128_142923_1.jpg

We can find many discussions on whether the tomato is a fruit or vegetables and until now I always used it as a vegetable, but now I found out I like it also as a fruit.

This year we didn't get a lot of fruit because of frost in spring and I've finally decided to make a small batch of green tomato jam.
As I like it so much and I still have loads of green tomatoes available I will make another one this week. 😀

IMG_20211128_143045.jpg

Green tomatoes taste fresh with a bit of bitterness. The apples and bananas compliments the flavors of it and add some of the sweetness, and the lemon adds the right amount of acidity, but when we add sugar we get this beautiful fresh fruit sweet flavor.
Besides the taste, the fruit also helps with preservation as it naturally contains pectin.

Ingredients:

  • 3 kg of green tomatoes
  • 1 kg of apples
  • 700 g of bananas
  • 1 organic lemon
  • 2 kg of pectin sugar
  • 1,5 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1,5 teaspoon of cinnamon

Preparation:

  1. Slice green tomatoes. Puree it in a blender.
    IMG_20211127_143707.jpg
  2. Peel and cut apples, bananas and a whole lemon and puree.
    IMG_20211127_145055.jpg
  3. Mix all together in a big pot and bring to boil.
    Skeem off the foam that appears on top.
    IMG_20211127_154517_1.jpg
  4. Add sugar and simmer for half an hour, or until the sugar is dissolved.
    IMG_20211127_152115.jpg
    Be careful not to get burned as the mixture splashes sometime when boiling. Stir frequently so that it wouldn't burn on the bottom of the pot. At the end of cooking add vanilla extract. As I didn't wish to get cinnamon in all the jars, I added cinnamon when I filled up half of the jars. IMG_20211127_170001 (2).jpg
  5. Sterilize washed jars and fill them up with hot jam. Close them with lids and cook them in a water bath for 45 minutes or process them in the oven.
    IMG_20211128_143221_1.jpg
Sort:  

This I call "teaser", you made me think how it tastes 🤔

I understand your question, I've asked it before and never got a straight answer. The truth is that is pretty hard to answer. There's a tiny bit of bitterness left from the green tomatoes but actually in a nice soft way. I can definitely taste the apples and bananas inside and that adds some fruity flavors and structure. The vanilla and cinnamon definitely helps improving the taste.
I'm not sure if the jam only out of green tomatoes would work, fruit and spices definitely play a big role in this one.

This is a wonderful recipe @blackberryskunk! I love the lemon, vanilla and cinnamon addition. My children just picked a whole bunch of tomatoes. When I saw them washing them to eat I realized that they are all green and only just changing colour. My husband said I should make green tomato jam and I told him I've never made it and didnt' want to start.....but now I find your recipe

Haha this must be a sign of the universe! 😁

I was also unsure before yesterday, as I never really liked dishes made of green tomatoes. But this one really surprised me!

If you try it, please let me know how you like it. 🤗

This is why I want to try it! I also never liked it. I will let you know but now I have to convince the rest of the family to pick green tomatoes after I told them why we leave them to get ripe...

Oh wow!! @blackberryskunk I have been looking for a tomato jam recipe for so long now, you have made my day. Thank you Thankyou so much. Just love it. Thanks for sharing.

I'm glad that it's helpful! ☺️
I was making it for the first time and I was very unsure of it, but when I tasted it I knew I have to share it on Hive! 😁

If you never tasted green tomato jam before, I hope you also get a positive surprise!

I'm going to try make it, sounds good. Thank you @blackberryskunk

You're welcome!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @blackberryskunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21