Hi I am Mariah, Nice To Meet You All 😊

in #foraging β€’ last year (edited)

Hello,

Firstly, I would like to apologize for posting without an introduction.

I am Mariah, and I'm incredibly grateful to have found this community, all thanks to my geek husband who introduced me here.

A little about myself: I work as a theatre nurse, and at the start of the pandemic, I contracted COVID Delta quite severely, which forced me to take nearly a year off. This pause provided me with an opportunity to reflect on how precious life is and to connect with the world of nature through foraging. It's a peaceful and mindful activity that has been incredibly healing.

While I deeply love my nursing career, I've come to realize that my true passion lies in working with nature. Despite dedicating 20 years to my nursing profession (I became a nurse at the age of 19), I never had the time to explore my passion. As you can imagine, nursing is always demanding and busy.

As long as I can still venture out (haha), I'm determined to dive deeper into the world of foraging. It offers fantastic exercise, the refreshing embrace of fresh air, and the bonus of boosting your body's microbiome. Rain or shine, warmth or cold, I venture out, for without it, my day feels incomplete.

Moreover, given the current state of the world, these foraging skills may prove vital. They could be indispensable if society were to break down, and we needed to forage for food. In the past, I would unknowingly trample wild plants without recognizing their potential. I now hold a deep respect for every plant on Earth and appreciate their beauty.

I'm also passionate about creating natural skincare products, and I use exclusively homemade skincare. I'm looking forward to sharing some tips with you.

I've also started a few groups with the intention of creating archives. Everyone is more than welcome to join; we can share and learn together.

I hope this clears up any thoughts of "Who is this person posting strange things" (haha).

That's about it for now, and I hope to connect with all of you soon.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Mariah πŸ’š

Wild Foraging
Wonders of Nature
Natural Skincare

Sort: Β 

Hi Mariah, I came across your post when @steevc reblogged it. It's always great to see people from UK joining Hive, we're pretty under represented. Echoing Steve's comment, about posting, I'd also like to suggest maybe focusing on engaging more with people to grow your network first. That way you'll get more eyes on your content because at the moment you don't have many followers and your content doesn't get the exposure it deserves. @riverflows is a good friend as is @minismallholding and worth your following if you haven't come across them before, hopefully you can grow your network from there. All the best

Thank you 😊

Welcome Mariah, potions and lotions are also an interest of mine. I look forward to reading your posts.

Awww thank you, that's fabulous. x

Welcome to Hive. I see you have been active already, but be wary of doing too many posts before you build a following. Some people have certain standards on what is considered duplication and excessive posting given that each post can earn. If you have posts that can fit in multiple communities then you can do one and cross-post it. It can seem mean when people down-vote, but we each get to decide what we think is good or bad for Hive and some people take this seriously. I hope it is not spoiling your experience. I hate to see good people get chased away.

Have fun and make some new friends who will support you.

!PIZZA

Thank you Steeve for the nice welcome and tips on cross posting, much appreciated. I always thought that posting is supporting the community to flourish as it will attract other areas of interest. I am one of those who love to share irregardless of cost, It is fun to post and I find joy in sharing my interesting find and my happiness is complete when I share. Reward is a bonus. But I understand what you mean about some post that abuses the system hence they have to put something to stop it. We learn as we go.
It is ok, not spoiling my experience, I have been in a group that can be pretty harsh plus no rewards, haha! Anyway, thank you and all the best. 😊

Happy to hear that. Communities are a great way to build connections. People are still working out what the protocols should be.

I've been around here a long time and met loads of great people, many of them in person, as I have been to meetups and conferences. I am hoping there will be more of those around the UK this year.

!BEER

That is amazing, i had isues with meets up before so i am a little sceptical but i maybe was in a wrong troop. Lovely to know that lots of great people here.


Hey @theworldaroundme, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Welcome to Hive Mariah. I’ll catch up on your other posts a bit later. Steve’s right, if I have a lot to write about I schedule my posts to go out on different days that also means if I’ve a busy day, I know I’ve got content queued up to publish, so can relax. I published a lot of posts when I joined and a lot of people advised me to go easy. I understand why now. I’ve had a couple of downvotes recently and someone did block me at one point which made no sense. People can be strange lol. I guess they are trying to control the kind of content they receive in one way or another.

Thank you ☺️

Hello Mariah, Welcome to Hive!

Thank you ☺️

Hello Mariah! Welcome to hive! Nice to meet you too!

Thank you 😊

You're welcome!

πŸ• PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @theworldaroundme (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @theworldaroundme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!