You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ATTENTION BRITS - Fight for FREE SPEECH on the 23rd of April 2018 (THIS MONDAY) in LONDON and NORTH LANARKSHIRE

in #freedom6 years ago

I posted on social media about this issue, and one friend privately told me that she agreed with me, but was scared to say so in public in case people thought she was racist. That to me is a very scary situation. People are being silenced.
In my social media post I felt the need to spell out that in no way do I have any negative feeling towards Jewish people - free speech is the issue. And I suggested that a more mature way of dealing with the video, if it made people uncomfortable, would be to put a subtitle on it, saying that no offence is intended towards Jews or any other race. Though having actually watched it (thanks for sharing that link, as the original video is banned in my country) the creator makes that pretty clear when he says "I thought I would turn [my girlfriend's dog] into the least cute thing that I could think of, which is a Nazi" and "I'm no a racist by the way! I just really wanted to [bleep] [my girlfriend] aff!"
The actors who portrayed Nazis in "'Allo 'Allo" and many other UK comedy shows of the 1970s and 80s didn't have to give such reassurances. It was assumed in those days that people would realise they were just kidding.
I won't be going to the protest though, because I suspect it will be manipulated for the media, with all those supporting Meechan being lumped together with the likes of Britain First. The press likes to see things in black and white, in more ways than one.