Writers or wanna be Writers Wanted!!!! Be Free! Freewrite!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Introduction to the Daily Prompt 5 minute Freewrite

Freewrite - what the heck is that you ask. Well, it is the opposite of a well thought out, highly edited, and grammatically correct piece of writing.

Freewriting is to set a timer for a certain amount of time and write. Without stopping. Without correcting anything. Without worrying if what we write is good or bad. Nobody cares.

The point of the freewriting session is to get out of our heads and tap into our creative self - allow things to flow. Sometimes, great writing will result. Well, and sometimes - not. The point is to get into a daily (or however often you can) habit of writing.

The Plan

@improv and I have come up with a plan.

  • We are going to take turns to come up with a daily writing prompt.
  • Set your timer to 5 minutes.
  • Start writing
  • Publish your piece
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste.

The Prompt

The prompt might be one word, several words or a phrase. Make sure to include them somewhere in your writing.

Or it might be a question or a statement. No need to include those in the text unless you want to.

And since this is a freewrite for free writers - in the end, do what you feel like that day. But share with us!!

WE don't have much voting power, but we will do our best to upvote your comment.

We might think of other rewards. Stay tuned.

Each daily prompt will have a link to this post - in case you forget how it all works.

Look for the posts from @improv or me titled: Day (number) 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt....

Sort:  

wow, this is intimidating...

Ghad, how to have the confidence to just write and not care... guess, this is where just freeing my mind needs to work (most of the time it doesn't) 🤣

Give it a try. Since all is allowed, even nonsense writing, you will be fine.

I will just try my best,
I don't know if I understand it better.
I'm the newest here🤣🤣😜😜

you will have fun :)

I really appreciate.
Indeed I do

I like your idea very much!
I have been practicing freewriting differently and never thought to publish it as such. I'm not going to promose I'll do it here, but it really sounds like fun. 🙂

hope you will play :) It is not about being good. It is about doing it and shutting up the inner critic. It is understood and expected to produce not so great writing :)

Yeah, yeah - I know, but I'm still not sure about it. It's not about you or the play. It's just about me. But will see! 😉

Nice comment, particularly the phrase "not about being good." So often, that desire / need to be good or great stops us from doing things (or writing things) that really are not that difficult, and which are in fact great practice.

I so agree with you!!!

I'm loving this idea and have no doubt as I get more comfortable with this platform will be participating! Thank you so much for this!

Sounds like a plan to me!!! Going to leave you a prompt so you can join us easily :)

What a very clever idea! Thank u for that!

You are welcome. we are doing this now for four months. Look at my profile and you find the latest prompt.

Hey, hey! Loved the idea. Just one question: to play, I need to follow the word prompt you guys give or choose any myself?

Well, usually in free writing exercises you follow the prompt. But, since this is a platform dedicated to freedom, you are free to do what you want :) I am posting a prompt every day. When I have been in writing groups, I always enjoyed seeing in how many different directions the same prompt can take people. But, as I said, freedom rules :)

Good idea!

Thanks!! Hope you will play :)

Very cool idea. You know I believe there is a book that uses this concept, something about being a good writer or songwriter, I forget. But either way I like this, I have always meant to do an exercise like this and never have. I may try this out. I will keep my eyes open for the first prompt. I need to get my creative juices flowing one day so why not here :)

Writing Down the Bones. http://nataliegoldberg.com/books/writing-down-the-bones/

Also the artists way has stuff like this in it

Thank you for sharing this link!

That was it, the artists way. Yeah I love it's being executed here in a different way.

Yes!! There are lots of different writers suggesting daily prompts like this. It helps to get over the inner critic :)

Good point. I know that critic well ;)

I think we all do. And we just have to get okay with producing 80 or even 90% not so great stuff to get to the one great sentence we all have in us somewhere :) Down, inner critic, down!! lol

ok, so if I want to join into this, what do I have to do lol seems to me like fitting perfectly :-)

here is the first prompt. Then just keep looking for one every day :) Write and post it in the comments or make a post and post the link in the comments
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-1-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-bored-stiff

typo alert! "Look for the posts from @imporv or me titled: Day (number) 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt...."

Thanks!! I think I am getting more dyslexic with age :(

typo alert! "Look for the posts from @imporv or me titled: Day (number) 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt...."

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mariannewest to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Marianne from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Eventually found the starter post! In the first day didn't follow the prompt, but I'm going to to be more disciplined.
If you want to read my freewrites, please be kind since English isn't my native language.
Thank you for this idea!

no worries. English is not my first language either :) And however you want to participate is welcome here. Thanks for the resteem!!

Hmmmm. This sounds like fun, actually!

Oooh, I'd like to joining in! Looking up the most recent prompt.

I love this idea and want to join in soon.

Yay!! Any time. Love for you to join. I'll visit you with a prompt ever so often :)

Cool. I imagine it’ll be after we get settled into our new place that I haven’t even started looking for yet. Lol. It’s the last thing on my list! But you pop up in my feed now. 😊 I’m glad to have met you.

sounds good :) It only takes 6 minutes. 5 to write, one to post if you are slow :) Then I won't sent you prompts. Just join in when you are ready :)

You can send them. If I have a few minutes to do it I will. It’s been a decade since I’ve written anything before now so I can use this kind of practice.

Haha this is great, I wonder what I can come up with. I'll join :)

So glad you did!!

I just came across on this post. Following!

Yes, Play with us!! Today's prompt was "crazy" :)

I'd like to do this also. I can write on all kinds of stuff and for only 5 minutes, that seems a breeze. How do I get started?

Here is today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-white-cat
Set your timer and then either post and share a link to your post in the comments of the prompt - or just post your whole freewrite if you don't want to use it as a post :)

I have just started with Steem, but I already love your challenge. I feel like even though (or because!) they're very short time limits, I'm actually getting out of my writer's block by participating and I love reading everyone's entries from the challenge. Thank you!

Oh, thank you!!! That makes me so happy. Glad you are writing with us!! and isn't it fun to read the many different directions everybody is going! :)

"A special occasion? Yeah, right. It was the Christmas that wasn't going to be all that.The special occasion wasn't going to happen. How could it? With 4 kids and one small income, paycheck to paycheck, there was no way they could do anything for gifts. They had maybe $15 to split between the whole family."

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/the-christmas-that

Im in! I enjoy a new challenge that aims at simply being artistic and expressive.

I am going to start doing this, is it every day or every Tuesday?

I tried freewriting. This is really awesome. I am loving this. Here's my entry:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@rhei86/day-99-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-sunset

I want to participate in the five minutes prompt writing,it can be anything. but it should be less or more than five minutes writing@mariannewest

I love this idea - I teach writing workshops and always start with a free-write... So cool to see it being encouraged here!
Thank you.
I'm gonna do a few and perhaps I'll share!
Keep up the great work
With love
Hart Floe
<3

I hope you will write with us!! Just find the newest prompt - and if you don't want to make a post from your freewrite - just leave it as a comment.

Well... I just did yesterday's one without realising which was paint... but I can't post it because I ran out of bandwidth haha... A common noobie mistake I'm sure. However I'll paste it into the comments section of that post any how and hope others can still enjoy it!
Thank you once again!
<3

Guide me, copy paste meanz? Want to post in freewrite what can I do. Plz.

This is today's prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-130-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-wasps

You write a post. Then, you go to the very top of your page and you see a similar line like the one you see above - only with your title in it. You highlight that, copy it - I don't know what you are writing on - usually it is controll or command c.
Then you go to my prompt post, hit reply, then control or command V and it will paste the url there.
Hope that helps.

this is a very interesting thing. I think I will try it. Thank you for the opportunity.

I just found this and it looks like a brilliant idea! I'll be sure to join in on the fun. :)

Nice idea am definitely interested in this one, it's way way to build confidence in someone. Keep the creativity alive. Kudos

I hope you will write with us. The daily prompt is on my profile - usually posting at 7 AM Pacific Time

Can anyone participate?

Yes!! all are welcome. You find the daily prompt on my profile and you just write whatever comes to your mind :) Make sure to drop a link to your post in the comments so we can find you. Or, if you don't want to make a post out of your freewrite, just blob the whole thing as a comment. Looking forward to reading your freewrites - and - we have no judgment here. Doing it counts.

Sounds like a great idea. I've been trying to come out if myself by accomplish small daily goals on my road to greater things. I discovered a dapp called Gekri and have been using that as a daily journal that also tracks my mood. I need to start making a list of little things I want to do. Free writing is one if those.

In this post you write about writers ...
Really the content is very good...I like it..now I want to tell you something.. belive me, I'm your fan. your all content and article impress me.. please don't take it fun or spam...I think you also with me and love your fan..I need your support.
Thanks man @mariannewest

Hope you will write something. Prompt is up

Scammer & Spammer! Flagged!
And BTW - Marianne is not a man!