#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 116 - Canal

in #freewrite6 years ago

While backpacking through Europe in the Summer of 2014, I stopped in Venice, Italy. I got off the train and when I walked out of the station I immediately noticed the smell of the city on water. There were boats and bridges everywhere. Cobblestone layered the streets. I walked through narrow back alleys, and sat for lunch near the waterfront.

venice.jpg
Photo by Jack Ward on Unsplash

There were a lot of tourists and shops perusing the streets. I only stayed in the city for a few hours. I took a water taxi to really explore what the canals were like firsthand. I wanted to take a gondola ride but they charge an arm and a leg to ride in those.

I had some gelatto and chilled in a piazza where people and birds were scattered everywhere. Music was playing and construction was being done on a giant cathedral. It was peaceful and calm. I was by myself, but made friends with two girls who were also traveling. We exchanged stories then went our separate ways.

Venice.jpg

I rushed to catch the last bus out of Venice to go to the hostel I was meeting two other friends at. I met these two friends in Rome and they told me about the hostel and when to meet them. I arrived off blind faith and found their camp. This was my last night in Italy before heading to Switzerland.

In the morning I woke up and ate breakfast before leaving for the train station. My train was leaving at 9:30 and I left the hostel at 8:30. I showered and changed then hurried towards the train station. I remember running underneath a walkway and through a city that didn't have any street signs. I relied on my phone's map to get me there although I didn't have any cell phone service. I was searching for a bus stop that would take me to the train station. The bus was going to arrive in less than two minutes and I couldn't find it anywhere. In the midst of a panic attack, an old woman was riding her bike. I called out to her and frantically asked where the bus station was. She pointed one street over. I thanked her and ran to the bus stop. Mere moments later the bus pulls up and I breathe a sigh of relief knowing that I won't be stranded in this city.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 116) prompt is "canal". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

Venice looks amazing, you got me interested in visiting it with this post :)

It's a really interesting and unique place! The food & wine is amazing

What was the smell like?

fish and trash...it was putrid but you got used to it haha

I've heard that description plenty. People tend to gloss over that though.

Lovely post :) I've never been to Venice, although I have been to other parts of Italy and really loved those. Your post made me want to go even more.

What are some of your places in Italy? On this same trip I spent time in Rome, Florence, and Naples. Italy was definitely one of my favorite countries I've visited and I would love to go back some day

I've been to Florence too - loved it! And to Bologna, and Milan . They also have some lovely beaches, definitely worth going back ;)

Makes me want to visit more places.

Nice post :-D

Thanks for reading! Sounds like it's time for you to start planning places to visit!

we have a freewriter living there - maybe we all meet up there and surprise him :)