A Rambly Freewrite Response to 'Zebra Socks'

in #freewriting4 years ago

Disclaimer: This was written using the Dangerous Writing App, so doesn't make a whole lot of sense at all. I did go through what I'd written and correct the spelling errors before posting it here, because they were physically paining me. 😅

Source

So here's the thing. I'm trying to think of a character who could be zebra-sock-related. A girl with zebra socks – or maybe it doesn't have to be a girl. Im picturing someone young. A child or teenager. Pippi Longstocking comes to mind. Her cheeky smile and funny adventures. I can see how inaccurate I am in my typing, misspelling everything (or a lot of things), as I'm using the Dangerous Writing app for the first time. This is the first time I've used it, though I have often seen it on Marianne's posts. I feel uninspired today, so this app was the prefect way to force myself out of that rut! I always shied away from the Dangerous Writing App because it sounded a bit too dangerous, I suppose, and now I'm getting distracted by how terrible my typing is – how many mistakes I'm making – rather than fleshing out this story of the girl (or maybe not a girl) with zebra socks. I have a pair of rainbow striped socks I was going to wear today, but then I decided not to for some reason, so I have plain old black socks on at the moment. I can see how the Dangerous Writing App could be useful for me when I'm putting together novels or stories in which I pause and hesitate for far too long, wondering whether there's a better way to say whatever I want to say. I think it could be helpful, to type like this and let it be as terrible as it needs to be, not faffing about trying to ponder over the best words I could possibly use. I am a little sad that November Madness isn't happening! I still want to use the prompts to feed my novel idea, though, to the best of my ability. My hand is getting sore, I'm not used to typing this long, continuously, not lifting my hands from the keyboard for one moment, because I can't pause for longer than three seconds or everything I've done will be deleted (not that what I've done so far is going to set the literary world on fire, but still) and I find myself thrown into a state of mild panic any time my hands hover over the keys for a little too long. I'm just taking the very first thing that leaps into my head and running with it – the objective is to stay typing at all times. So. Pippi-Longstocking-type person. This is a character I can bring to my mind. I see her pigtails. The plump rosy cheeks. Childhood recollections of the movies and TV programmes featuring her .... She was an icon for me.