How (not) to write an awesome story.

in #freewriting4 years ago

Hello Everyone,
I am back again, twice within a span of 24Hrs and that the first of it. Actually I was not feeling it from my previous post. You know the feeling that you get from ...posting. Yeah!! WHAT THE HECK..!!!

Lets start again. Actually my previous post was just an excuse to see if I can write. Words that makes sense. Does that make sense? or I do I need to start again. I will do us all a favour and skip my petty excuses of no being here and writing. Because there is nothing new. I have used worked as an excuse before too. Health. Self help. In fact I can’t use any excuse… Wait how about marriage. That would be something new. Never mind. She was very sweet and supportive and its too soon to use marriage as my disappearance from this platform or anything. (That was a joke people. The lockdown is affecting my sense of humour). Yup!! I am back without any excuse.

Ok, Skipping all small talk lets get to the sweet spot of the story writing. This is I don’t know what to call it. Haha, I hope you’ve experienced this and can relate other.

ywb32s.jpg

Image source

There I was sitting in front of my laptop about to start the awesome story. This one is going to be epic for sure. I assured myself. Everything is set very clear in my mind. All I have to do is start writing. But before I could start I have to clear out any thing that could distract me.

The bright afternoon light from the window is hitting the room in wrong angle and is causing a glare in my laptop. I must eliminate all distractions. I gave the killer in me the command. With the seriousness of a killer. I got up from the desk and moved to the window. I noticed the clear bright sky. But the killer was in no mood. With a slow but steady movement the closed the blinds shut. And returned to the desk. Objective accomplished.

vl7lt7.jpg

Now back to story writing. I must get the epic out on the paper or this laptop. This is something good I assured myself. I was about to begin with the story I realised for the very first time that the position of my wall facing table is bad. I argued with myself a little about how a wall facing table is better than any other facing table but I lost. Its better I change the position. The table must face towards the window. The wall is a block to my imagination.

j01m4v.jpg

I started moving the Objects from the table to the self. I reminded myself that everything has its place and stop treating my table as how we treat out planet. The mug and the flasks belongs to the kitchen. The Sanitizer must be kept at arms length away. Bag of chips and dates goes to the kitchen. The Pencil and pen goes in the pen stand. And the table shouldn’t be overcrowded. I must be neat and clean. The only purpose it has is to support the laptop on which I am going to write this epic story. Nothing else. It is not a garbage dump or junkyard.

9j490t.jpg

Yes!! All set now nothing is going to distract me or take me away from the here. I sat down and took a deep breath. Properly oxygenating my body and mind. The body and mind needs to be oxygenated to the max otherwise laziness will set in. All that table shifting and movement triggered the muscle heat and I was feeling little warm. But I shouldn’t get distracted from my purpose I must push forward. I barely finished assuring myself that everything is under control all I have to do is start writing, Sweat broke off on my forehead. Oh my god!! this unbearable heat I must handle this otherwise it will get in my way of writing. I must at least get the characters out, otherwise I will loose the tempo.

My favorite green shirt came off. I could feel the sweat on my body. This is not idle conditions for me to start a story. I mean where is the serenity and the calmness. Ufff!!!! this uncomfortable body is getting in my way. I must create an ideal environment so that I can get going with the words and my awesome story. I have already thought out how this is going to end. Oh how amazing it would be. But first bath!!!

Ok!!! its already a hot day, Lets switch to cold shower. That will help me with the situation. And I read somewhere that cold shower trigger release of stress hormone. Which I think is good in this situation. It will keep me alert and present. That way I can focus more on the work at hand. I continued to stand in the cold shower. The first few second were what anyone would call a discomfort but I got through it easy. And let my brain to work. My thoughts were organized. I will start with the main character and this is must. I have to establish the main character well and then I will introduce the chaos. That way everyone will be in the able to understand the main characters mindset. Yes!!! That is the story. How, Vivek is going to deal with the situation.

lfopvr.jpg

The shower is finished and fruitful. My health bar is recharged to max. Now nothing can stop me from getting to work. I slipped into my comfortable shorts and tank top. Hmm!!! So Nice. I will name them my Writing outfit. I will wear them every time I am going to dish out some nice story. Alright back to desk Now I can start the work. Hey!! Its not work its art. Yes, An art. If its work I would writing anything and be done with it. Its an art, I must pour my soul into it. Yes!!! But lets pour a cup of coffee first. It will energize my soul and mind. Good Idea. I poured myself a cup of Nescafe the one. Aromatic and refreshing. The smell was so pure. I was so full of energy that all I have to do is think and the words will appear by itself.

I took another sip. Draw the chair near. Stretched my muscles. All ready to write. I typed the leads name VIVEK. Took another sip of the wonderful coffee. And asked myself the most important question which is going to change everything for everyone.

Are you sure that this is the right genre?

9bfil4.png

I am Inuke.

And this was just a writing exercise to see if I still can write. Now there is always room for improvement. I had other things on my mind. And I am sure one day I will get to it. Till then you have to put up my pointless post and word vomits.

Stay Home and Stay Safe.
See you in the next post.

Sort:  

Jeez nukey you distract at the drop of a freaking hat XD That was hilarious, chortled all the way through :D

I don't get distracted. Actually it's the other way around. I infact I get focused on the distraction..

I am glad you enjoyed it. ❤️

And hence proved that you can write well. Thanks for writing and continue doing it.

It feels good to be back to writing again.

Vivek - let if flow
You can try the dangerous free write prompts which give you help in writing if you like
https://thestoryshack.com/tools/writing-prompt-generator/

Thank you for the love and support @sayee. :-)

this is great big brother you are back here with your own unique style of posts this is going to be fun here again.

I missed your this post, 😉

That was a joke people. The lockdown is affecting my sense of humour

That happens to the best of us, buddy.

The bright afternoon light from the window is hitting the room in wrong angle and is causing a glare in my laptop.

Did you know there's something called 'Dutch angle'or 'Dutch tilt' in cinema? It means that the angle of the camera is slightly off, giving the audience the sense that something is off.

Reading all this put a huge smile on my face. You're still one of the masters of writing about not writing but at least you have a name for a main character.

Looking forward to more of this, whenever you're ready.

I'm the patient type.

P.S. This could easily be tagged mindfulness or mindfullife :<)