Friday Files - a long day

It was a particularly long day in the kitchen, yesterday. In addition to my usual bits, I also made a dozen quiches.

IMG_20220813_055441_875.jpg

I make these only occasionally: they are usually the realm of my market pal, Janet, but this week she's away taking a well-earned break. I don't try to replicate hers - I couldn't. I do know, though, that there is at least one local who depends on being able to get his Saturday lunch from her. And so he did. Sadly, his days in the village are numbered. After 30 years, he and his wife are moving to Cape Town. Closer to family and for care for her as she has dementia. It's taking their toll - the move and her dementia.

On the upside, things are beginning to, well, spring.

IMG_20220813_054411_042.jpg

The tarragon is springing fresh leaves: I can't wait. It's looking really healthy and hopefully I'll have enough to infuse vinegar and to dry for next winter, and especially for that French onion soup folk so enjoy.

IMG_20220813_054410_880.jpg

I can't wait for the jasmine to burst into bloom so that I can fill the house with their scent.

IMG_20220812_231307_462.jpg

Although the day was warm, the night was clear (and cold). The scuddy clouds made a pretty picture with the full moon.

IMG_20220813_054723_092.jpg

Rambo doesn't like cold. Nor does he like being covered up. He does, however, take a long time to emerge from under the mohair when it's cold. And there's more - possibly snowy - cold arriving tonight. We've had no snow or frost this year. We need both. As much as I hate it/them - the cold, wind, snow, frost...

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Rambo 😺 the star !
Oh your French onion soup now that will be delicious!
I take it Janet will be back next week and your load will be lessened slightly again.

Yip. She will, indeed. We miss her. She is good people. Even if I say so myself, the FOS is fab. I shall make it when you and herself visit.

Omg yum!!!

Send please. The door is open forever

You need to take a trip. Actually we are not so far from Cape Town!

I see that!

I will so do that when I have transport again.

Are you running a restaurant up there?

Nope. We used to host suppers in our home on a Sunday. Covid happened and there are now "proper" restaurants open on a Sunday evening. I have a stall at the market every Saturday. Some of the offerings are standard, but I do something different #inthejar each weak.

Very cool :)

I also worked markets for years. Had a stall on Greenmarket Square for years! I love traders. Adventurous people.

I'm gonna surprise you one market day!

I look forward to that!

Oh, my, that tarragon will be a real treat. Jasmine is profoundly magical, did you know that?
Dementia breaks people. My uncle had it for two years. He went to Heaven yesterday, which is remarkably sad, but better for him.

Oh, I am sorry, Sue. Denise descended into it about 7 years ago. I have friends who have parents walked the same path with parents. Strength to you and your family xxx