FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY : BUNI/BIGNAY SYRUP AND JAMπŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday β€’ 4 years ago

32jrnu.jpg
tiny fruit with amazing benefits and beautiful color


Hellow Foodies and Steemit FellowsπŸ“πŸπŸ‘πŸπŸ‰πŸˆπŸπŸŠπŸ‹πŸŽπŸŒπŸ‡

Happy Monday! It's always fun to join the contest once and a while on #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving with full support of @vegansofsteemit, @plantstoplanks and @barbara-orenya😍 I like this contest because it's the perfect contest to brag about various fruits and veggies from my country. With my lack ability on cooking, I can always find inspiring recipes from the contestants too. I'm not a vegan but I like fruits and veggies. So, if you want to join us, follow the rules mentioned on T🍎H🍊I🍐S P🍠O🍍SπŸ„T🍈.

🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾🌽🌽🌽🌽🌽🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾🌾

My Hubby informed I that he spots a fruit stall near the Navy Airport, Pondok Cabe which selling Buni aka Bignay/Bugnai aka Salamander tree, Queensland cherry, Wild cherry or Currant tree which has scientific name Antidesma Bunius L (spreng). It was on friday afternoon and the rain has falling heavily. It stopped me from get dressed and asking him to take me thereπŸ˜‚ We made a promise to go there ASAP.

What's so important that you need to get rush to get the fruit?

Let me give you some reasons 😊

  1. I need to create a post for this contest.
  2. I haven't eat that fruit for yeaaaaaars
  3. I have seen the tree and the fruit 35 years ago at my neighbourhood before its gone. And that's the only Buni Tree I ever seen in my lifeπŸ˜‚
  4. While everyone I know said it's an extinct fruit, but the fact is it's less concern because nothing threat its existences except the human who doesn't want to tend a big tree like that in their small garden, like me😊
  5. Hard to find the fruit selling everywhere around the town because not everyone loves the sour taste and it's not economically good for longer than a week.
  6. Nobody from my hometown answered my question about its local name in Achenese.
  7. It's full of nutrition and benefits for our health.

el2jbe.jpg
size of this fruit is less than 1 cm, it has edible seed, not mature evenly and loves by swarms


People in my country who know this fruit will eat it raw and fresh by minced it with salt, palm sugar and red pepper all together in mortar (some people will add shrimp paste too), it calls "Rujak Buni/Huni/Wuni".

Because I don't crave for "Rujak" and the fruits I bought not to ripen, I decided to make Syrup and jam. It's easier and I just need sugar as additional ingredients.

Making Buni/Bignay Syrup

  • 300 grams fresh buni
  • 500 grams sugar
  • 1000 cc water
    🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸
    Blend the fruit with a glass of water, make juice. Than add the water and sugar, boils it till boiling. Let it chill for 30 minutes and the filter the pulp. Keep the syrup in bottle in the fridge, drink it whenever you want.

ibazva.jpg
I got about 100 grams pulp and I add 5 tablespoon sugar with half a cup of the syrup and cook it till it sticky and looks like jelly


The taste of the jam, almost similar to cranberry jam with tiny crunchy seed in it. Yaay... this is my first time making jam and I don't use other ingredients but sugar. No cinnamon or clove to make it more tasty too.

ahyqz1.jpg
I add ice cube in the syrup, you can add more water too but my syrup is not too sweet


Hubby said the taste is like pomegranate juice, but I said Guava Juice with cranberry tasteπŸ˜€. It's fresh and perfect for a hot sunny day.

About Antidesma Bunius L/Bignay/Buni

This fruit is native to SE Asia, Northern Australia and South Asia. The tree is evergreen shrub from 3-6 metres long but can reach 30 metres tall. The size of the fruit is less than a centimetre, hanging singly or paired in long heavy bunches. The colour is white when immature and taste like cranberry. The red to black when it ripen and has a tart but sweet taste.

88tu5q.jpg
eat the ripen fruit raw and check your tongueπŸ˜‚ you'll have a purple tongue for sureπŸ˜‰


According to this ArticleπŸ’‘, this is the future plant for medical treatment. People in Asia use the leaves for treating snakebites, leaves and roots are use for traumatic injury. The young leaf usually consume as salad or tea.

Like many red/purple fruits, we all know that it can be a source of Anti-Oxidant and Vitamin A. Add the sour taste as a signature of Vitamin C, right? This tiny fruit is a good source of vitamins and fiber. It will take sometimes for researcher to find about the full benefit of this fruit because it's not widely found anywhere but the Asia and Pacific continent.

aud4ew.jpg
I would love to pick just the ripe one, but the seller would closed his business and my hubby would left me there till I finished, then he will comes back tomorrow to pick me upπŸ˜‚


Even though it means I will get some stinges from the swarms which also there and prevented me from touching the fruits carelessly😊 and I already imagine myself climbing up the tree somewhere in Leuwiliang,Bogor, West Java if I go thereπŸ˜€. Who would refuse a free high source of Vitamin C and A? I WON'T!

Have a Happy Monday πŸ’πŸ’πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ“πŸ“πŸˆπŸˆπŸπŸπŸ…πŸ…πŸ‡πŸ‡πŸπŸ

Sort: Β 

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Back with another fun entry! Love it! As usual, I haven't heard of this fruit either, but sounds like that's not too surprising if it is hard to find even there. Hopefully with all those health benefits people will start growing more of the trees again. It would be a waste to let it go extinct! Glad you got your hands on some to enjoy at home. Maybe the leaves would be good to make medicine for the stings you'll get picking them, haha.

Hahaha... you're totally right @plantstoplanks..if only I could find the tree and use the leaf😊 unfortunately..the closest tree is about 5 km away from my neighborhood and I'm afraid nobody lets me climb it upπŸ˜€ and I need to go to neighbor province at the mountain part to get a free one 😁

You are such a FRUIT EXPLORER my Dear Cici!!! You know how much I love your stories and this one is one of the best you told so far!!! You make me laugh and i always learn something new!!! I never heard about this fruit, but I would love to taste it 🌴🍍🍈πŸ₯­πŸ₯₯🍊πŸ₯πŸŒ΄

01.jpg

It didn't work for me!

WeΔΊl.. it's too small for your big big univereseπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ do you happen to have this tree too?

No, I live on the moon!

was that your mouth? hahahaha

Β 4 years agoΒ Β Reveal Comment