My 80s Computer Birthday Cake (And Nerdy Gifts)

in #fun4 years ago

Remembering My 40th Birthday Party

This is a birthday cake that my wife made for me from scratch for my 40th birthday party that she threw for me. It was originally going to be an Atari 800xl, but she ran out of a particular color so just sort of invented a computer instead. I think she did a great job! It tasted great too! haha. Of course even though I was a total nerd, I didn't complain that I can't type any digits on this keyboard.

My amazing computer cake designed by Amanda

Of course they also bought me an ice cream cake which I hogged to myself as much of as I could.

I didn't hog it because I didn't want to share it, but because I remember going to the bathroom and when I returned, my guests had almost completely devoured my computer cake! I wasn't about to let them take all of my delicious ice cream cake.

That bad boy was yummy!

As you can see, I was well pleased. People were already convering on me trying to get to the ice creamy goodness.

Get your eyeballs off my Ice Cream cake, Jenny!

Anyone who knows me, knows that I've always been a huge fan of Garbage Pail Kids. I've been collecting the cards since the mid 80s. A bunch of my friends got together and bought me a set of these vinyls. How cool!

Most people really have no clue why I like these things so much.

It's kind of funny when I look back on this birthday (it was 4 years ago, just getting around to posting about it) I got as many toys as a little kid that year.

This BB8 was awesome! You can control it with a phone app

Everyone did a great job with the gifts. I all so much nerdy paraphernalia. I guess everyone figured it was my big 40, so I deserved a bit of cheering up. I remember when I hit 30, I had a bit of a panic attack.

I remember waking up in a cold sweat and rolling over to my girlfriend, "Am I really 30 or was I dreaming?"

I know, it seems a bit dramatic. I haven't dealt well with adulting.

This phaser is the real deal. It has some weight to it!

My buddy Steve got me this authentic Star Trek phaser that you can use as a TV remote control. Of course I've been too scared to take it out of the package other than to check it out, because I don't want to screw it up. What an awesome gift!

IMG_0098.JPG

I imagine that there are some people looking at this post thinking that I'm a serious dork. You'd probably be right! In fact, I just realized that it's 11PM, and I have just enough time to get in a sci-fi show before bed. Sooo... c-ya!

Sort:  

That cake is awesome! And the phaser too.

The cake on my birthday wishlist would be an Amiga 500, a line-up of Lemmings and an app controlled Guybrush Threepwood :D

Nice! I wanted an Amiga back in the day but it was way out of my price range. I had a friend who I considered rich (who was probably normal, but I was just really poor) who had one and a bad ass midi setup. I was so jealous.

But I played the hell out of some old school Lemmings. I played Monkey Island a bit too, but I was big into the Sierra games in the early 90s...

We have lot of better games now

The release price of the Amiga 1000 was completely out of range indeed. I recall it was 5000 Deutsche Mark back in in 1985. I got my Amiga 500 Christmas 1987 and I think it was about 1500 Deutsche Mark at that time. So yeah, still substantial but just affordable.

Ahh, Sierra. Loved the Space Quest series. SQ III was one of the few games I actually bought. Just to realize that I lacked the 512 kb RAM extension needed to run it :D. Leisure Suit Larry I is unforgotten too...

Leisure Suit Larry was hilarious.. Actually, I didn't even have a computer that would support all those games. I had to go play at my friend's house because he had one of those fancy new IBM compatible 80286 God beast machines.

I was still stuck with my Atari 800xl for most of the 80s. My grandmother bought it for me for my birthday in 1984.. She only paid $100 for it because she worked at K-Mart and got an employee discount. Best gift ever! I remember spending all day writing programs on it in BASIC but didn't have a tape drive, so when I turned off the computer I'd lose it all.

Cómo me pude haber perdido tu post de cumpleaños!!! Sorry!! Espero que hayas disfrutado bastante tu día! Muy genuino ese pastel, tu esposa tiene buena imaginación! Happy Birthday!! 🎉🍻🍰😘

muchisimas gracias, @mballesteros :)

Esta post es en memoria de mi cumpleaños 40; ya han pasado 4.5 años desde entonces. Haha! Pero apenas encontre las fotos y quise compartirlos con la comunidad. Pero si, Amanda tiene mucho talento y creatividad! Ese cumpleaños fue muy especial para mi.

I feel like a fool! Well at least think I wished you happy birthday in advance!😜

lol! It's okay. I like happy birthdays haha!

Nice cake I wish I can get mine

It was pretty good!

Love it. 40 is such a great age to be. It really is the new 20 ;)

Hehe.. yep. It went so fast, though. I will be 45 in a few months already! Slow down, time!

You look much younger than your age handsome daddy

WoW! That is some impressive cake Rick, Amanda's a very talented girlie that's for sure!
!bro

Very true Andy - She never ceases to amaze me with her many talents!

Nice! That is pretty awesome! I heard that they are re-releasing some of the Garbage Pail kids NFT cards on the WAX network. I don't know how accurate that is, but it might be something you want to look into. The Star Trek stuff is awesome!

Nice! Thanks for the tip. I went to topps and found a post about it. I was able to put in my email address to be notified and get free stuff.

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3

That computer cake made by amanda is amazing, the toys are cool.
Seems you had a great time buddy.