Fungi Friday ~ Mystery Fungi ~ What is it?

in #fungilovers4 years ago

IMG_4828s.JPG

In mid-April, they appeared after a rainstorm in the center of a bed of moss, just the tops of three golden fungi balls. It was pretty exciting if you like fungi. I wondered what kind of mushroom they would become and looked forward to seeing them the next day.

IMG_4829s.JPG

However the next day came and then the next with little change. Maybe they became a tiny bit bigger but none ever became the size of a golf ball. The next two photos, below, are the same two.

IMG_4839s.JPG

Their saffron gold colour was the most distinctive thing about them and they popped out in contrast to the vegetation around them. There was also a crease across each one.

IMG_4840s.JPG

By then I had been looking online with no luck. Were they puffballs? Not like any I had ever seen. Truffles? I have never seen one. In my research, there was something called a pocket mushroom but with no photos.

IMG_4842s.JPG

In mid-May, others appeared after a rain and the first ones were still there.

IMG_4906s.JPG

Then they started to darken.

IMG_4940s.JPG

By the third week of June, it was over.

IMG_4942s.JPG

So what are they?

IMG_4946s.JPG

Images

Photos by @kansuze usng a Canon SX620 HS in the Lenah Valley, Hobart, Tasmania

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

I saw a mushroom similar to the last mushroom. I thought it was interesting as it was like a little cup and held rain water-a little well for the insects.😆

Oh! I think I have seen something similar around here, but they were opening to almost a perfect start shape.
I can't help with the name, but it is so cool you managed to catch few stages.
Happy Fungifriday! :)

The mushroom hid, but you found it anyway! :-)))