Memes I felt compared to save this week

in #funny2 years ago

Ever since leaving FB and Instagram any time I have a situation where I have to wait a little while in public I get on 9-gag instead of traditional social media. Sometimes I find stuff that is extremely informative and I will admit that I get a lot of my current affairs news knowledge from 9-gag. Mostly they just have memes and funny things there and the comments section of course can get toxic as hell because it is still the internet after all, but for the most part it is a lot better than FB since it is all anonymous and you don't have to lose friends and family members because of something stupid like political differences.

I probably look at 9-gag about an hour a week, and here are some of the memes that I found that I consider to be gems.


249980314_3190580181269930_6104216134714927135_n.jpg

People kind of think of me as reasonably successful in life. I have no debt, I have lived overseas for decades, I've owned and sold my own businesses for a profit, and i don't really allow the little things in life to get to me. However, if I was being honest I would have to admit that most of the good things that have happened to me in my life, especially in a financial sense, have happened completely by dumb luck and not because it was a carefully examined situation where I made great choices. The reality of my life is that I spend a lot of time self-sabotaging rather that taking the advice that I give out to others.


248340140_407762597568854_8898295206870336646_n.jpg

I've lived in some pretty exotic places but no matter where I end up I usually end up doing the same thing of drinking in excess many times a week. We joke about there being nothing to do here but drink but this of course is not at all true. It's just that drinking is accessible, easy, and cheap.


249206391_568669677545425_6515922975704513076_n.jpg

Before leaving the United States, my last two jobs were with the federal government. The level of waste and incompetence that I witnessed in those positions was staggering. I'd like to think that I was an exception to this rule but I really wasn't. There was very little incentive to ever be good at anything there because if you were efficient or innovative, they simply gave you more work to do, not more money. Having worked these 2 jobs is a big part of the reason why I am basically against any program that the government is involved in because I know it is going to be done incorrectly.


255439522_589839332078141_3435104626776234034_n.jpg

I exercise a bit because I don't want get fat as I get older. I also know some guys who are ginormously fat but still happy all the time. This guy, whoever he is, seems like he is probably a lot of fun to be around.


251533574_1266444360534931_3092556999328925264_n.jpg

This meme format always cracks me up. I have nothing in my own life to relate it to but it is used frequently to exhibit the differences between the mindset of women and men. Whether or not the sentiment is true or not doesn't matter... 9-gag is not a place to go for accurate representation of anything, really. It certainly isn't a place for PC nonsense and that's probably why I like it so much.


258158706_375918304323798_3342113172004217917_n.jpg

I have a borderline drinking problem. I am aware of this. I am in my 40's and I never grew up. I have no intention of ever doing so. I saw another meme not long ago that said something along the lines of "for some, life's objective is to stay as young as possible for as long as possible." I believe I am killing it as far as that is concerned and honestly, aside from a few things here and there I wouldn't really change anything about how my life has carried out.

That's all I managed to find in my phone from the past week that moved me in some way. If you have any to share back I'd love to see them.

Sort:  

Ain't that last one the truth! I keep waiting for someone to take care of all this crap and then I realize it is all on me. Just me. No one is going to bail me out. With the exception of my wife maybe, but mostly she is probably just laughing at me waiting for me to get my crap together :) Great stuff here. We are hitting the winter months now and already had our first bit of snow, so that nothing to do but drink season is right around the corner!

Having a partner is a real plus in those situations. I live my life like I am still in my 20's for the most part and I am as surprised as anyone else that things have worked out for me.

oh and on another note I have experienced the winter in your part of the world a few times. That stuff is brutal. Do you ever just get used to it?

Sort of. It usually takes people a little bit to remember how to drive in snow.

your meme posts and words cracked me up....lets go move to where the government does not exist, any sugestions?

I feel as though finding that perfect country where the government is out of your hair for the most part, yet the country is still safe, is not so easy to find. South East Asian countries do well on this and according to my friends over in Central America, strangely, the areas that the cartels / mafia control tend to be the safest as an expat. At least that is what I was told.

The lack of government intervention and prying in my life is a big part of the reason why I have chosen to live in a country like the last 2 I have lived in. I don't think I could return to a society where the govt is involved in every aspect of your life.

Where are you at now and where have you lived that you found the GOV to stay out of your life?

I am in Vietnam and since this is the only communist country that I have ever lived in I was actually really surprised how much the government just kind of stays out of your way.

I have lived in a few commi countries and was also surprised how free it was. paying off the cops is better then all the rules and red tape that exist in "free" countries. How is it thse days with the death jab?

Vietnam is late to the party as far as that is concerned. It is, as of now, still optional, which is kind of surprising and probably only because they don't have an unlimited supply. We'll see what happens when they get stocked up!

In this case late is good. Optional is always an option. I hope it goes well for you over there.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@marshmellowman(1/20) tipped @gooddream (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Well, if it's any consolation, you have never digitally seemed like you have a drinking problem. That being said, if you are self-aware enough to make a statement like that, your drinking problem probably isn't nearly as bad as many of those in absolute denial, and I've sure you've seen countless of these types in yours drinking abroad.

In Cambodia, there is a certain look on some 50-55+ year olds' faces, as if they've come to SE Asia to die drinking. There are often few people to socially check any vices we may have living in your part of the world, mostly because we are foreigners in a strange land. That combined with the wild-west nature of SE Asian living causes many folks to age 25 years in a 5-year span, I've seen it.

For you to have survived and thrived abroad as long as you have, you're certainly doing something right.

I feel that way as well. I have hangovers a lot more frequently than the average person "back home" but i also get things done in my life and exercise and work and what not. I suppose that isn't really anything to be proud of because we are supposed to do those things anyway.

I have seen the people age like crazy and are absolute nightmares when they are drinking. I have also seen young people throw their futures away as they waste their prime years with the beers starting to flow earlier and earlier. When I see a bunch of folks with a table full of beers on a Tuesday morning or something I can't help but think to myself "WTF are you guys doing?"

The worst is the people who make a scene every time they drink and every expat knows at least one of these people. They are almost always men, but I have seen women like this as well. When I see them it is just confirmation of what you have written above... that yes, I do have control of my drink!