Memes I felt compelled to save and share this week

in #funny3 years ago

Ever since leaving FB and IG, my life has become a lot more open. I waste a lot less time doing stupid crap on social media and instead dedicate more time to doing stupid crap in real life - which is a lot more fun.

As far as time-wasting on the net is concerned, my only guilty pleasure at the moment is 9gag, which is just fantastic if you want to laugh and perhaps even learn something. I have found that the comments section, while it does get toxic it isn't anywhere near as bad as FB or Twitter or even IG, because most of the people are anonymous. It's just a place where people dump memes day in and day out and whenever I am in a taxi or somewhere that I have to wait this is basically my go-to app. Some of them give me so much of a giggle that I feel compelled to save them and here they are.


170803177_206018887638830_5420579848856502800_n.jpg

I have quite a few Canadian friends that I have met in my many years of living overseas and for the "right" Canadian, they are able to take a joke pretty well. There are memes on 9gag that poke fun at every nationality including my own so it's not like anyone is anti-Canadian.

This next one kind of falls into that same category.


178648571_519026305772169_8658668250655413750_n.jpg

I suppose you would need to be familiar with Trailer Park Boys to even know who that is but it's a pretty fantastic series that made the creators a ton of money, especially when you consider that they basically started with zero money and made a hit show.


175109519_954035972033902_3998954840434914066_n.jpg

I struggle with fitness here in Da Nang because I prefer to exercise outdoors but it is so damn hot and humid here that this is almost impossible. Sure the ocean is just "over there" (I can see it from where I am sitting right now) but the lifeguards wont let you swim in it outside of designated areas. Therefore there will be no exercise in that ocean over there either. So I don't exercise much and a drink a lot. I am probably gaining all the weight I lost with an active lifestyle in Chiang Mai as we speak. I could use the above system to help me though.


178963109_493466208444984_4855136357434402098_n.jpg

9gag is filled with stuff like this as well and I think you need to have a special kind of sense of humor to think it is funny. I have that sense of humor, which is why I also appreciated this next meme.


173138882_388215105849947_4543293669889277275_n.jpg

Thankfully most of my friends are not emotional roller-coasters and this is not something I actually have to deal with and on that note, this last one hit me right in the feels and actually made me misty-eyed in public.


175990221_1231805287237176_7181181275948370167_n.jpg

While the comments section on 9gag can get pretty heated in a lot of the posts, this one was all respect and plenty of "cry" response memes. It's tragic and something I hope I never have to face. It inspired me to contact my mom and that is always a good thing.

Got any memes to share with me back?

Sort:  

That one with the guy and the toothpaste is so funny because he was so clueless in general. He was on a show called 90 day fiancée and he was a total douche. He went to like the Philippines or Thailand to meet this girl and then told her she had bad breath and all this stuff. It was epic cringe-worthy! That one with the football fields made me laugh as well, so I guess we are on the same page! :)

ah, i never knew where the meme came from. I'll have to check that show out. I like a bit of cringe in my day.

Americans are "picked on" on 9gag on a regular basis for having a different system of measurement than most of the rest of the world... They are all pretty great but there are also a bunch of people that get all wound up in the comments, which was the point in the first place by whoever makes these things.

Well, personally I think we are just asking for it if we can't just use the metric system like everyone else. I have actually never heard a single good reason why we shouldn't change.

There are a bunch of iterations of that show. Basically people meet online from different countries and then they rush to propose so they can get permeant residence or vice versa. Cringing and hilarity ensues. It's a massive train wreck.

you live in a border state... kinda in two places... at least I think you can cross into Canada on the UP but i am not sure about that.... when you get closer to Canada do the speed limit signs start to be in km as well as mph? I spent a bit of time in Maine and that was the case there.

We have three points of access. Two in the lower, one in the upper. Sault Ste Marie in the UP. Port Huron and Detroit are the other two.I haven't noticed any of the signs being like that.

I had science requirements for my degrees in college. I suck at memorization sciences such as Chemistry and Biology, so I went for physics instead. It's all metric in there but a lot of this has a lot to do with our professor, who absolutely hated the US system of measurement and refused to engage or even cover the parts of the subject matter that used anything other than metric and this is fortunate for us because the calculations are much more complicated in anything other than metric.

Old habits die hard though and I would imagine that the layman's use of US measurements will stay intact forever. Engineers and physicists probably feel differently.

To be fair us Americans aren't the only ones. I have a friend in this city from the UK that is incapable of even imagining human weight in anything other than "stone" which is a really bizarre form of measurement as it is 6.350293kg... or if i have to put it in lbs, it is 14 of em.

That is pretty interesting. I've heard the term stone before, but I never knew the exact conversion.