My Unpleasant Experience With the Market Women

in #funny3 years ago (edited)

When I go to the market, market women, as is the custom in my country Nigeria (I don't know about yours), always call me sweet names. They do this so that I would buy from them. Like I would be passing by and a market woman would call to me and say "handsome boy, fine young man, come and buy from me".

I know they do it to me and other passersby just to make us buy from them but it still gave me good feelings all over to be complimented in this way.

MARKET WOMAN: Handsome young man, come and buy from me!

ME: (With a grin) Well, you're not bad looking, yourself. How much are the cabbages?

It went on like this until one day I saw them call someone else "handsome guy, come and buy from me". I turned to look at the guy they were calling, to see if he looked anything like me, but to my horror this guy was an ugly dude! Motherfucker looked like Thanos!

images (47).jpeg

source

I was hurt. Heartbroken!

images (48).jpeg

source

Like, I knew they called us handsome just in order to make us feel good and buy but I thought there was a standard! I thought there was at least a minimum requirement, a minimum level of looks you had to have attained before you got the compliments. So it was actually a matter of anything goes. Oh!

Otagburuagu_ornament01.png

Sort:  

external-content.duckduckgo.jpg

It's all about the money ...

Hahahaha 😂
Clearly! Nothing else seems to matter.

Nice cabbages though...

Hahahaha. Not anymore

Congratulations @nevies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Perhaps you are frequenting the wrong market my brother.... Lol...

This was fun to read.

Cheers!

Lol. Thanks for stopping by, bro👍