Wasps, Earworms and the mug of shame.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

It's 10:25am and it's already turning out to be one of those day's that tests your tenuis grip on reality.

It all started at 5:55am this morning 5 whole minutes before my alarm was due to start screeching,

5 whole minutes of blissfully sleeping unaware of the school run torment that lies ahead.
Lost gone forever.

All because at some point during the night my brain decided it was a good idea to start thinking about a cartoon i haven't seen or thought of in nearly 30 years turning it's theme tune into the earworm from hell.

Now I don't now how the school run works in your house, but in this house the task of transforming two tired stubborn pre-teens into semi functioning human beings at the end of a long week can only be described as psychological warfare. A war you can't possibly win with the Poddington peas slowly drilling a hole through your skull.

quotes-933816_1280.jpg

Two hours later as the sounds of the daily hairbrush debate filled the air I had been reduced to hiding in the hallway with my emergency sanity saving chocolate stash. Cleverly disguising my binge as a search for house keys I shoved the last piece of mars bar in my mouth. It was that precise moment the sounds of my little angels screaming like wounded banshees stopped, only to be replaced by a quieter yet much more terrifying sound.

bees-2351041_1280.jpg

"Down at the bottom of the garden, among the birds and the bees" sang the earworm tormenting me as i tentatively popped my head out the front door to find a small wasps nest sitting in the awning above the door. which not so conveniently on this occasion happens to be right next to the gate to get out of the back yard our normal escape routes where blocked.

Which is how I found myself helping the girls climb through the living room window, singing the poddington peas to a bemused call handler who had decided he was just too good at his job to leave a customer on hold.

And to top it all off I just realised that I only went and made my much needed first coffee of the day in this!

The Mug Of Shame

mug of shame.jpg

sigh!
I can't take anymore, if anyone needs me I'll be in the hall looking for my housekeys.

Sort:  

This is so funny; I like how you think. I want chocolate now.

I always want chocolate.

Come out of the closet and declare your love for the 1D boys, come on you can do it. Thankfully no more school runs for me, the nightmare does end eventually, put on a 1D tune and dance away your worries haha

i thought we where friends lady. keep those wicked evil thoughts to yourself.

Ahhh you know you are beautiful hun heehee

I'm sorry! I shouldn't be laughing but the visual of you guys climbing out the window is just too much! ROFLMAO.
I hope that chocolate binge helped. I'd probably be having a nip off the whiskey and give up the rest of the day. lol

I'm afraid the day continued along the path it started on this morning, it took me two hours to write this post because Selkie decided that this was the only acceptable place for sitting today.

I suppose that's a wonderful place to be! You do see the irony here, don't you? Figuratively speaking, you've got the shoulders to carry a lot of burden, love.

lol. Poor you climbing out the window. I'm glad there are others who have a hidden stash of chocolate. I keep mine in the dresser. And you know you have a secret love of One Direction. I mean who doesn't love that cute boy band hair.

A chocolate stash is an essential part of every parenting survival kit.
and just to be clear I am not nor ever will be a fan of boy band hair, it was the left over Easter egg during our weird family boxing day tradition, which now gets passed around the family whenever someone does something embarrassing.

Love your sense of humor. Thanks for sharing