Paraprosdokians

in #funny4 years ago

A paraprosdokian is a figure of speech in which the latter part of a sentence or phrase is surprising or unexpected in a way that causes the reader or listener to reframe or reinterpret the first part. It is frequently used for humorous or dramatic effect, sometimes producing an anti-climax. For this reason, it is extremely popular among comedians and satirists.

“Some paraprosdokians not only change the meaning of an early phrase, but also play on the double meaning of a particular word, creating a syllepsis.” - Wikipedia

Enjoy this selection of paraprosdokians and have a great weekend!

RS D 1.jpg
Image created on Canva

I found a concert ticket nailed to a tree, so I took it. You never know when you might need a nail. - Unknown

Just burned 2000 calories. That’s the last time I leave brownies in the oven while I nap. - Unknown

Never lend books, for no one ever returns them; the only books I have in my library are books that other folks have lent me. - Anatole France

A bore is someone who persists in holding his own views after we have enlightened him with ours. - Malcolm Forbes

A good wife always forgives her husband when she is wrong. - Rodney Dangerfield

Children really brighten up a household. They never turn the lights off. - Ralph Bus

I exercise strong self-control. I never drink anything stronger than gin before breakfast. - W.C. Fields

The family that stays together probably has only one car. - Knofel Staton

I’m sorry I hurt your feelings when I called you stupid. I really thought you already knew. - Unknown

If at first you don’t succeed, order pizza. - Unknown

Everyone should believe in something. I believe I should go to the beach. - Unknown

It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch? - A.A. Milne

RS D 10.jpg
Image created on Canva

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Hive 2.jpg ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Reblog it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes. Cheers!