Hive-Roller.com Calculation Rounding Debt Paid Back.. Working on the Site Overnight to Fix Other Bugs Found.

in #gambling4 years ago (edited)
image.png
stripperright.png

The Bankroll Now Properly Reflects the Account

Huge thanks to the community for helping me out with getting the bankroll calculation issue sorted out over the past 4 days. When a bug in the code used to calculate the site commission and referral payouts was introduced in the v0.7.8 patch I wasn't aware that the site was injecting extra HIVE into the bankroll. Luckily one of our users ( a high ranking witness ) managed to find the bug and point it out to me before it caused a game ending amount of HIVE to be injected into the bankroll. Between a few personal loans ( thank you @justinashby ) and throwing site commissions at the issue the outstanding 955.515 HIVE in the system has been repaid and now the site is once again fully solvent in regards to having the HIVE to cover all investments and user balances currently present on the site. Overpaid on it slightly in order to give a bit of a buffer due to a new issue found with dust bets causing floating decimal points on the back end but will be looking into this tonight for a fix to rectify it. Thank you for your patience and support.

Owing your own site money is certainly fucked up, but glad this situation was rectified!

Fuck Ups Happen.. Glad it was Caught When it Was!

A bit of an embarrassing situation for sure but I'm glad it was caught and rectified before it came to a point I was no longer to cover the error out of my own pocket. Owe a few users some HIVE still due in part to them giving me loans and an account corruption in the database but all in all the site is back to working order. The algorithm used to calculate site commissions and investor payout has been swapped out for something producing proper numbers for non-dust bets, however the dust bets and floating point decimal places that come with it on the back end are still being looked at due to certain numbers still producing unexpected outcomes on the bankroll. This is a minor issue and only effects bets < 0.001 HIVE however tonight I'll be working on the local version of the site to see what I can do about it.

Prior to the bankroll calculation fix the site commission take was making outputs completely heavier than they should have been and this is what caused the extra HIVE to be injected into the bankroll. Tonight I will also attempt to get the referral links and payouts working again properly as well.

Database Hiccups and Stats Nuking...

One other issue that has been plaguing the site is the odd occurrence of users database entries getting wiped. This causes obvious issues such as losing the current balance and statistics of the user, so tonight I will attempt to build a backup system into the database on critical writes in order to have a fall-back set of data in case this happens to users. Up until now been relying on an honour system where users tell me how much balance they had and I would refund them when I could, however this isn't optimal and certainly not production ready by any means.. I apologize to users affected by this bug, it's an error having to do with disk writes to the database piling up on each other and I'll try to rectify this in upcoming patches.

This is alpha testing and experimental software.. Please remember this when playing and investing, fuckups can and do happen and while I do my best to ensure no funds are lost sometimes when the site decides to nuke player account databases these things happen.

The Site isn't Perfect.. But We're Slowly Getting There!

Like and experimental software under development in an online alpha testing state we as the sites community are going to find errors, break things and find bugs. This is all part of testing and while from now on more stringent testing will be applied to upcoming patches as one man I cannot catch all bugs and highly appreciate the community taking time to help find and report bugs on the site.

The new GUI is hopefully coming soon, was hoping to have it live by the end of this week but still waiting for word back from my front end guy to send me the new version so I can test and implement it. While he's focused on that I'm going to be focused on cleaning up the back end and adding redundancy to account database info and squashing the dust bet rounding issues. It's been a long drawn out development process and I apologize to the community for it taking so long to get the site fully production ready. With that being said I'm grateful to the users that frequent the site to help testing both on the rolling and investing side, highly appreciate your patience and understanding as we as a collective slog through and find bugs. The site will only get better the more it gets worked on and the more bugs reported.

NOTE: To protect your balance from the account nuke DB error, if you have the funds invested you'll lose all your stats but the investment DB is separate from the account DB.. So you won't lose anything balance wise if it's invested. I recommend 1x leverage as high leveraged investments are risky as hell!