Govember: game development sprint!

in #gamedev2 years ago

4.png

Intro

For the month of November (sans Thanksgiving) I will be dedicating my free time to spear heading the development of Allonain Seed. For those that don't remember the project, it stars these guys

p4.png

and a whole host of other characters! I will be live streaming my work over on Vimm.TV: My Channel and of course I will be posting here ever so often to give you updates for those that can't tune in!

The Hive Connection

I've been working (in my spare time) on a new improved version of OpenSeed that resides on the users computer and handles most of the things that OpenSeed handled locally but as always connected to Hive in as may ways as it can to make non-web-based applications integrate with Hive in a meaningful way. With Allonian Seed you will be able to connect your Hive account to the game and then using the magic of the block chain generate parts and items to be used in the game. All based on your activity on HIVE!

banner_bottom.png

Will it have NFTs?

Well that is a little tricky at the moment, I want to be able to distribute the game to as many people as possible which means getting it on Valves Steam, BUT Valve had to go and ruin the party by kicking NFT based games to the curb. So at the moment proper NFT support is out. Valve's move was expected, and one of the reasons I wanted to get Thicket to a place where game developers,musicians,and the like could upload and sell there wares. Maybe I should go back to that?

For now we will have to be content with using hive as a means to create parts, even if those parts aren't NFTs by definition.

WAIT!! WHAT DO YOU MEAN ASSET COLLECTION AVENUES!!

It's not as creepy as it sounds, and I will go in depth about it in another post, but basically files and blog posts are read for meta data and hashes which are then ran through a series of algorithms that will generate the parts. The parts are given a unique identifier that connects them to the files or posts so that they can't be used again. Everything is done locally and only thing that will ever be stored is that identifier to keep you from double dipping.

This is great! Can I help!

Sure can! My plan is to create a working prototype during this development sprint which will require testers (still not sure how to go about that yet). My hope is that you my Hive family will contribute in whatever way you can to help the project along, and if the interest is high enough I might create a proposal to fund further development. We'll see.