Govember: Game Development Sprint Day 2 -or- Doing the worst thing first.

in #gamedev2 years ago

Screenshot from 2021-11-02 23-04-24.png

Intro

This evening I turned my attention to the settings menu. Often over looked the settings area can really make a game stand out. Don't believe me? Well okay, maybe it isn't super important, but it's still needed to make a well rounded game. That being said I'm not happy with how it turned out ,and I'm going to have to spend some time with it each day to get it looking and behaving just the way I want. Thankfully the transition from the main menu to settings is pretty slick and makes me smile. I'll be sure to upload a video when the game is a little further along, and the settings windows don't look so...bad.

Progress shots

Just as before, I forgot to take a lot of progress shots thanks to the video I've been streaming. But here are a few that encapsulate the process pretty well.

Screenshot from 2021-11-02 20-34-53.png
I wanted a big canvas, or at least I thought I did but even though blank space is good, there was just too much with a window that large

One of the most important part of the setting area (in my opinion) is how it handle sound. The sound page will have all your usual options, BGM,SFX,Main, mute and volume controls. It also has the ability to turn on and off the mic for a feature I have planed.

Screenshot from 2021-11-02 22-50-42.png

Of course no settings area would be complete without general display options. Here you can set things like the resolution of the game and whether you want it to run in full screen.

Screenshot from 2021-11-02 22-04-16.png

Future work.

This is only a small sampling of what is needed in settings. As you can see from the pictures I plan to fully flesh out every category including "Accounts" which is where the users can link the game to Hive which will then import the user's activities and reward them with in-game stuff. Thankfully the linking code is already done, and all I have to do is build the menus. The big trick will be what comes next once we get into the game.

Closing

I'm not feeling all that accomplished today, but tomorrow will bring new challenges and with any luck we can get into the first few moments of game play development. I think you'll really like what I have in mind. Also don't forget I'm streaming live over on vimm.tv! It's boring but I would love to get some support from the Hive community and anyone else interested in the game.

Till then!