Retro Games Night

in #gaming4 years ago

Tonight is my first night off in a loooong while.

So it’s beers and retro games with my pal @jackshootsstuff at our shared office.

5ifr53.jpg

There is a projector setup with LOADS of retro consoles and games that belong to Jack.

q5d8zm.jpg

NES to start, followed by SNES, then Sega Mega Drive... and maybe more we’ve not even played yet :)

Here are some photo highlights of what’s we have been playing..

We started with Bill & Ted - quite a shit game, still fun to see - then we moved on to Skate Or Die which was also a shit game but actually a bastard to play.

00ihe7.jpg

Then Super Mario Kart (I lost badly, I’m terrible) then moved on to Home Alone which was quite dull too.

l9v66a.jpg

h7ouxi.jpg

I see a theme of games that come from movie franchises are a bit meh.

Killer Instinct was next. It’s like Street Fighter from another dimension, on drugs. Quite brilliant.

ylkvww.jpg

d4dvro.jpg

Then Super Mario All Stars on SNES which is bananas. Proper nuts, it’s great.

bwc6nx.jpg

BUT Power Rangers was properly brilliant.
Great game play, fun, colourful, responsive, a good feeling on constantly kicking arse.

98yhl8.jpg

Next is Mega Drive, we start with Sonic 2!
That is ace fun. I don’t remember SNES and Mega Drive being around at the same time but apparently they were rival consoles...

u42kvq.jpg
ti90k3.jpg

Anyway. Next up is Aladdin.

I thought I had played this as a kid.
Apparently not.
No memory of this whatsoever.

31we7c.jpg

ajb5g5.jpg

Last up for tonight is Streets of Rage.
The best game. Two player is amazing fun. Hilarious and bizarre.

iwn6w3.jpg

Tonight has been great.
Another is on the cards no doubt :)

I’m not a HUGE game fan but I’ve realised just how much of my childhood was game based..

qyuirm.jpg

Cheers for reading.

Sort:  

I'm surprised that the consoles are all still working! The consoles I've encountered seem to stop working after a while. Mind you, could be a PlayStation thing.

This sure sounds like a fun night. I never owned a console myself, have always been a PC gamer but I sure enjoyed playing console games at friends' and classmates' houses. Everything retro is fun, even if it's just out of nostalgia.

Thanks for sharing this with us :<)

Cheers for the comment dude!
Yes, it’s mostly an opportunity to look back on good times.
I’m actually buying a NES from the same guy.
I just fancy having one :)

Yes, it’s mostly an opportunity to look back on good times.
I’m actually buying a NES from the same guy.
I just fancy having one :)

Awesome! I might do something similar in the near future, although it would help to have more friends around. I'm not much of a single player gamer.

See you around!