Swablu Community Day Recap - Mega Altaria Released

in #gaming3 years ago

thumbnail.png

This Saturday the monthly Community Day took place featuring Swablu the Cotton Bird Pokémon and its evolution Altaria the Humming Pokémon. It started at 11 am local time through 5 pm local time. The bonus with the event was 1/4th Hatch Distance for Eggs incubated during the event. There was a 3x Catch EXP bonus active as well from the Luminous Legends X event.

Evolving any Swablu into Altaria during the event or up to 2 hours afterwards would teach that Altaria the Charged Attack Moonblast, a powerful Fairty-type attack. Not immediately the best move for Altaria, being a Dragon- and Flying-type Pokémon. However Mega Altaria changes its typing to Dragon- and Fairy-type Pokémon in which case it does benefit from STAB for Moonblast. Which is stronger than its current Dazzling Gleam option. This could make Mega Altaria a great addition in teams to take down Dragon-type Pokémon if lots of people are bringing Pokémon with Dragon or Fairy moves.

Shiny Swablu was already part of the game for a long time, so no new Shiny with this Community Day. In this screenshot you can see my 100% IV Swablu, two Shiny Swablu and a Lucky Swablu that I already had prior to the event. As you could guess, I didn't have Altaria registered in my Pokédex yet. I prefer finding them in the wild, and well so far I had no luck encountering one yet 😅

Swablu before event.png

I started walking around with two other friends somewhere between noon and 1 pm. We didn't always get to walk around that much because the weather was really bad.. It would often start to rain so we had to take cover from the rain. Usually we were able to go take cover at places where we could reach at least 2 Pokéstops continue receiving items while catching Swablu. The in-game weather was on Partly Cloudy for the whole event though despite the rain, which means Swablu were all weather boosted. That meant extra Stardust, but really decreased our chances of finding an Altaria with good potential PvP stats. Not that I play in GO Battle League often, but it could still be nice to have for when I do play.

Near the end of the event the weather cleared up and it remained dry for quite some time, which allowed us to walk around a bit more to places we didn't really go to in the city earlier during the event. That made it more pleasant to as we could finally walk for a long time without taking cover from the rain.

I finished the event with 20 Shiny Swablu caught, having a total of 22. You can see these in the next screenshot.

Shiny Swablu.png

With the event over it was time to start evolving some Swablu. I managed to find a 3* Shiny Swablu during the event so I evolved that one to Altaria and having Shiny Altaria as the Pokédex registry. Altaria flies quite high in the Pokémon overview, but for the Pokédex registry I feel like they could at least centre it a bit more as its head is almost out of the screen 😂

Shiny Altaria Pokédex Registry.png

This time I once again remembered to take a Pokédex screenshot before the event to show a before and after of my Swablu seen and caught. Which you can see in this photo.

Swablu Pokédex before and after.png

For the 3rd part of the Cotton-Winged Bird Special Research you had to evolve a Swablu into Altaria, which I completed by evolving the Shiny Swablu. Then in the next part of the Special Research there was an Altaria encounter. You can see that encounter and its stats in this screenshot.

Altaria Special Research.png

Apart from evolving the Shiny Swablu, I also evolved my 100% IV Swablu and my Lucky Swablu. After getting the Lucky Altaria I transferred it to the professor, because its stats aren't that great and I just wanted to make sure I have a Lucky Altaria in the Pokédex.

Altaria Evolved.png

The Field Research Tasks rewarded either Swablu encounters, Great Balls, Ultra Balls, Pinap Berries, Stardust or Altaria Mega Energy. It was 20 Mega Energy per Task. I ended up getting a total of 5 of these tasks, so ended up with 100 Altaria Mega Energy. It takes 200 to Mega Evolve it the first time, so I'm still a 100 short on that. I'll wait until another event or some other Field Research Tasks will reward these, as I currently don't really fight any Mega Raids.

How did your Swablu Community Day go?

Sort:  

Congratulations @athunderstruck! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!