Self Portrait...Kind of

in #gaming3 years ago (edited)



Late Thursday night I found a YouTube video called How to draw a Head in a Comic Book Style by Doomsayer Designs. I thought it would be the perfect video to watch right before I went to sleep. I was wrong.

The concepts he was showing were easily attainable. Basic. I figured I would spend ten minutes drawing a few heads and then go to sleep. Three hours later, with a bunch of scary-looking faces looking back at me, I went off to pass out in bed. I had ended up with one head that looked okay.

Friday morning I woke up and started drawing more heads. Everything I had learned the night before had gone out the window. I looked at the video again and started to see where I had gone wrong.




Taking Notes



After watching Doomsayer Designs' video five or more times, I finally liked my drawings showing up in my sketchbook. I decided it was time to try a larger version than 2 x 2 and see how that looked.




She looks like a girl and human!! WooT!



It was time to see if I could add color to her. I decided to try watercolor. I taped my watercolor paper to the Plexiglass my hubby finally decided to cut into useable shapes. This way while the layers of watercolor were drying I could still use my computer. I was scared and excited all at the same time to start.




The first layer of paint and I had three different skin tone colors.



A few things I learned right off the bat. I need to spend some time learning more about color theory. I need to find a reference on what colors make good skin tone colors.

Not that I did any of those things last night. I just winged it and hoped by the time I was done with the painting the skin tone color would work itself out.

To my surprised it did!



Time to let the first layer(s) dry.



While waiting for the layers of paint to dry I played some Hearthstone to relax and get caught up on my daily quests. I ended up winning two battlegrounds in a row. I was in shock! I was on a roll!!


After placing first in the two games one would think it would be a great time to go to sleep. It would have been except my painting was finally dry. I really wanted to see how she turned out.

While playing Hearthstone I realized giving her white hair and a light background was not the best idea either. Her hair was going to get lost in the light blue sky.

Time to get out the paints again!!




Adding the darker green to the background make her hair and face pop!



I kept painting. One of the best side effects while painting is I do not smoke. I get so lost in what I am doing three hours will go by and I have not even thought to light up a cigarette. Win! Win! for me.




She was done. Now I just needed to wait for her to dry once again before I would be able to take the masking tape off the board and not have the paper warp




The one thing I dislike about making a scan is you lose all the sparkle.



I am so excited about how she turned out!! I was happy I added the blue hair on a whim. I know the eyes are not identical but in real life, mine isn't either. I also know one hair clip in closer to you, when you look at it, but in real life, my ears are not in the same place so if I did put my hair up, like shown, this is what I would look like.

I didn't set out to have this painting be realistic. I guess it just wanted me not to fib. 😹

All in all, I had a blast and can not wait to do more sketches and implement what I learned into them.

If you like art videos I would highly suggest you check out Doomsayer Designs videos found here.

Have a wonderful day!! I am finally off to sleep at 8:44 AM. 🙀



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

I just imagine heads scattered out about your room with failed scary expressions telling you to keep drawing through the night. 😉 cute one though.

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! That is the stuff of nightmares!! or a darn great story!! :D
Thank You for making me smile and laugh out loud.

Oh this is nice. I learned to draw face the same way, that's about all I can draw! I like the way you used the letter of your name as the choker. The blue hair is nice. Congratulation on your wins!

image.png

Thanks :D

HUGS

I really enjoy seeing the progression of your art. And I love that you share your sketches and notes. You just may inspire me to learn how to draw, myself.

She looks like a girl and human!! WooT!

So funny. I've had similar reactions after accidentally creating artwork that actually looks like something familiar. "Holy crap! It looks like a girl! And a human one, too!"

Thank You!! I really hope I do inspire you to start drawing. It really calms me and not thinking about smoking is an extra added huge bonus :D

and HAAAAAAAA! I love it when things look like you want them to or at least you can tell what they are :D

MANY HUGS

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thank You!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank You!

What keeps me up at night is crossword puzzles, not art. Ha ha!