Assetto Corsa - Going manual in a Lotus 98T

in #gaming3 years ago

I've been trying a few of the different cars available in Assetto Corsa over the past few evenings and had heard of the Lotus 98T. It's a late 80's F1 car which was powered by a Renault engine and was driven by the great Senna.

How drivers kept these things on the track I've got no idea. I'm trying to drive it in "toy land" and it is exhausting.

The power plant was a 1.5L V6 with a rather large turbo. In race spec this was turned down to around 60% giving the car an output of around 800-900 bhp. I'm driving with a manual shift and clutch in the videos below with some very dodgy heel-and-toe. The latter means blipping the throttled whilst breaking and downshifting. It is meant to match the speed of the engine to the wheels and to make the car more stable. It should stop the rear axle from locking.

This first video is at race spec.

This second video is in qualifying trim which means the engine was given full boost. This means an output of around 1200 bhp. This was only used for a few laps as it destroyed the engine and gearbox in no time.

Sort:  

Looks like a handful in the second one. That's a lot of power for a light car. You must know every inch of that circuit by now. Can you tweak the car set-up? I get confused if there are too many options.

Yes, you can really go to town with setup options but I tend not to tweak it much. I've been concentrating on trying to learn the tracks. I have completed a few races too. It is very much simulator as much as a game.

I know Brands Hatch really well now and have started to learn Spa.