Garden Journal, More November Garden Work

Hello, and welcome to da garden, eh!

About a week ago, I wrote a post about my end of season garden work. At that point, I had not finished all of the work that I wanted to get done before winter set in here in this area. The weather over the past week was rather nice for this time of year, so I was able to get the rest of the work done on the garden.

Last week I talked about getting all the cornstalks and root balls removed from the corn patch at the end of the garden, but I still had a pile of dirt from the corn rootballs to spread back out into the garden. You can also see that the bean trellis still needed to be cleaned up.
DSCN3944.JPG

I was able to get that done over the next couple of days. Once I had all the rows filled back in, I was able to cover the area with shredded leaves and corn stalks for mulch for the winter.
DSCN3958.JPG

Since I had already picked the last of the beans and cleaned up the bean trellis, I decided to take the trellis down. I won't be using it there next year, so there's no reason to leave it up. I move it every year.
I left the 2 posts standing because I didn't want to mess with pulling them out of the ground that day.
DSCN3959.JPG

I also raked up the extra shredded mulch into a pile. I don't want it to be too thick on the garden, and a pile is easier to handle in the spring.
DSCN3961.JPG

I had gone to the local garden supply store and bought 2 more 20 gallon pots for my container garden, I put them in the container garden area along with all the rest of the stuff piled there. The raised bed behind the container garden is still a mess, but it's just the dead marigold plants, so I left them there. I harvested a bunch of the seed pods from the dead flowers, so I have way more marigold seeds than I will ever need.
DSCN3951.JPG

I decided to see what the spacing would be for the 4 big pots and the 2 heavy duty totes that I plan to use next year for the container garden. It looks like I'll have room for at least 1 more big pot, but the 20 gallon pots are expensive. Still, by next spring, I should be able to get 1 or 2 more to put there. It helps to make irrigation easier if all the pots are the same height. It's easier to set up the irrigation pipe that way.
DSCN3968.JPG

I think I have all of my fall garden work done for the year, but I still have some work that I can do in the greenhouse to prepare for spring. That, of course, is a story for a different post.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Heh heh, I'm a little behind in winterizing my veggie garden, it's not freezing yet but I still have a bit of time.

Wow, it is nice transformation of that space. It looks awesome now. It is must have been some work, but of the kind one does gladly.

Hi amberyooper,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I personally like as much mulch on as possible to deter any weed growth over the winter. Here in New England things like grass, oak sprouts and oxalis grow all winter if not stopped.

Grass is probably the worst thing to control in the garden...