Wrapping up Sunday

in #garden2 years ago

IMG_20221010_061044_139.jpg

If the promise of this mass of blossom and early set of fruitlets is anything to go by, we could have a bumper lime crop in 2023.

IMG_20221010_061043_921.jpg

I shall be watching this space as closely as I am watching the last later pair. I am hatching a plan for them.

IMG_20221010_061044_175.jpg

I wrapped up Sunday with fajitas with gardenloot - lettuce and marjarom - and with a tomato and corn salsa.

IMG_20221010_062218_764.jpg

I used the last of the roast chicken which fed us for four different meals. I call that excellent value for money.

IMG_20221010_062218_902.jpg

I had already spent a big chunk of the day in the kitchen: I have a busy work week and social ahead which includes dinner guests on Wednesday. The menu's largely by request, so I spent time doing some of that preparation.

For supper, the hardest "work"? Rolling the tortilla! So worth it because I have two stashed in the deep freeze for another meal.

IMG_20221010_062218_970.jpg

I have to say, because it's been a while since I prepared a special meal, I'm getting a kick out of it and between now and Wednesday (probably tomorrow as we're out this evening), must also do something about a dessert...

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

I used the last of the roast chicken which fed us for four different meals. I call that excellent value for money.

I totally agree! I love the versatility of chicken when you roast it.

And we are so lucky that it is free range from producer within spitting distance of the village.

Oh even better and tastier:)