My Latest Garden Experiment

in #garden3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210926_112433111.jpg
Have you ever seen these garden grow bags before?

My neighbor grew a whole bunch of potatoes this past season in grow bags.

I decided to try these out as my latest garden experiment. I ordered a dozen for around $15 which is a whole lot cheaper than a dozen plastic containers.

IMG_20210926_114253409.jpg

First of all, I was surprised about how much dirt these bags hold approximately .75 cubit feet a piece. The one bag of dirt filled just these two bags.

Which means I need to buy more dirt!

I planted cabbage in one and collards in the other.

I will use six in the winter garden, and if these hold up I will start my potatoes next Spring indoors in a bag of dirt.

I think it is cool and can't wait to see if these bags work and can hold up for more than a single season.

IMG_20210926_112608314.jpg

This is another "experiment" of mine. My version of a small Hugel Mound.

What is a Hugel Mound? I read about these on the website linked below.
link: https://morningchores.com/hugelkultur/

Two Winters ago I lost several large Pine trees and after cutting them up the logs just laid around for awhile until I discovered the Hugel Mound.

Interesting right? I planted collards and leeks in one of my Hugel Mounds.

IMG_20210926_112543491.jpg

In the other Hugel Mound I planted Snow Peas and Leeks and one cabbage that looks like it has been gnawed on by some critter.

Now this is a real race for time since the peas went in a little late. While Snow Peas like the cool weather, they really don't live up to their name as snow or a hard frost will kill them.

I think we should change the name, as a "snow pea" that can't actually live in the snow is a little deceptive.

How about "chilly peas"? Just a thought, maybe we could all start a movement!

IMG_20210926_112528631_HDR.jpg

Are those some really UGLY PAST THEIR PRIME TOMATO PLANTS!

Yes they are! These suckers are way past their prime but still keep producing. And as long as they are producing I will wait to pull them out.

IMG_20210926_112507039.jpg

Amazingly, the peppers are still producing albeit rather small peppers.

IMG_20210926_112556680.jpg

The Brussel Sprouts are thriving in the cooler weather.

IMG_20210926_112449349_HDR.jpg

I planted three cabbages at the same time, one seems to be thriving and the other two - well - not so much.

The two "empty" containers next to the Brussel Sprouts aren't really empty. If you squint and look real close the cabbages are there.

IMG_20210926_112457189_HDR (2).jpg

Finally, I put a set of onions in this weekend. I must admit that I have never had any success with onions but hope springs eternal!

I will keep you updated on my latest garden experiment - the grow bags. I grow almost exclusively in containers, as I am too dang old (or lazy?) for a whole bunch of tilling and weeding.

Have any of you ever used grow bags before? Let me know what you thought of them.

That is all from the garden this week.

@handofzara signing out!