Our Strawberries are becoming ripe

in #garden4 years ago (edited)

I planted these plants about two months ago and they are already bearing fruit. I was thinking maybe in the middle of the summer they would form but they actually ripened much sooner than I expected.

23ugan.jpg

About a month ago they formed flowers and I was hoping they would grow into berries. But was worried they are too young. I was wrong, the Strawberries grew and are real tasty. I tried one that ripened already.

huh9b5.jpg

I see a bunch of others on the way as well, I think by June I should see alot of them. They are called Junebearers so I'm going to assume that is the month they really fruit alot.

85wj6g.jpg

The berries high up on the rope structure are untouched. Though the ones sitting in pots have little bite marks. I think some animal was tasting them. We just cut that part of from the Strawberry and eat the rest.

atbzgt.jpg

I guess if I want them bite free I need to suspend them all.

8iv0eh.jpg

I noticed the leaves of the Strawberries in the large pots have larger leaves and larger berries. Making me think I may need to build larger containers for the suspended system as they are just little coconut oil containers.

42bl9c.jpg

Though even with these issues, like the little bites in the berries and having smaller berries due to small containers. I am glad I'm not fighting the Ants. So far at least. I hate how they eat the berries.

47h9ye.jpg

The Ants when they can get to the berries will eat them from the inside out. I planted some berries in the ground to see what happens. And it seems an Ant nest popped up next to the plant.. heh they are waiting for the berries to ripen. So the control is looking pretty grim. I'm liking growing them in suspended containers and in other large planters instead of in the ground.

Sort:  

I'm surprised you got any.. I thought it took a full year before they started producing..

Yeah we were too. They must have been pretty old roots. We got them from Starkbros btw.

strawberries wow i like that .😊❤

We do too.. looking forward to seeing how much they grow.

Fresh picked strawberries are one of my favorite summertime treats.

They sure are awesome. They are filled with water so it's nice when outside working hard.

@solominer I like strawberries alot. I buy them here as its not commonly planted here, maybe because of our weather.

Our plants are fairly established and have just started ripening. Only had a couple so far, but hoping for lots soon. Enjoy!

Ah nice.. sounds like the strawberries are waking up around the world right now. Best of luck with yours. We already got about half a dozen or so.

I just picked a load more. Nice little daily treat.

Hehe sure are.. same here

we don't have here, and in-market mostly bad fruits are there...good luck strawberry...😀

Ah yeah we have old fruit and veggies at our markets too.. that's why I want to grow them. Much more fresh.

Give me one!! 😋

Haha come and get it.

I am coming... @solominer 😂😂

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)