The Strawberry plants are producing runners

in #garden4 years ago

Recently one of the pots of Strawberries are forming vine like stems and trying to expand. Just a week ago did the Strawberries start ripening and it's already trying to expand.

3mg5ob.jpg

Normally these runners would move across the dirt and and form roots into the ground. But since they are hanging from a pot they wont be able to find soil.

2ohhni.jpg

I could cut off these runners and place them in the pot. Or maybe I could move the runner without cutting it and placing it inside the pot wrapped around.

i746lr.jpg

The pot that is producing runners seems to be doing the best compared to all the others. The size of the leaves tells me they are happy.

55itkp.jpg

Currently there are two runners coming out of the pot. I wonder if more will show up soon.

bf5pt3.jpg

Other containers are producing berries but no runners.. also the leaves are a little smaller.

09lg6x.jpg

The hanging coconut containers are also producing berries but are not making runners yet and the leaves are smaller.

uog6lp.jpg

There are three hanging pots, made from some coconut oil containers I modified.

h8y9hb.jpg

One of the Strawberry plants seems like it's not gonna make it. But almost all the others are doing well. Some doing better than others.

Sort:  

good luck strawberries...runnerup one, two, three and to infinity...😁

Hehe thanks.. yeah I think many more are on the way.

Strawberry is the favourite one fruites of me.Nice project.
@solominer

Bro did you seen my next mail?

Oh nice.. I love them too.

I need to login and check.

If you have a couple extra pots you could move them under the runners and let the plants establish in the new pots.

Oh great idea, yeah placing a pot under the runners and letting them grow in the new pots would probably work.

I had 2 huge planter boxes 3x12 and I let the strawberries run wild. This year when I build new boxes I ended up with hundreds of strawberry plants that I had no place for. I still have close to 50. Once they start growing roots cut them from the main plant. Unless you don’t want anymore then get rid of the right away. I have just a couple strawberries that are almost ripe. I can’t wait!!!

Oh cool, I think I'll let the runners root and then place them in the soil. There are a few bare spots in the pots that could probably handle another plant.

Best of luck with your planter boxes and getting ripe strawberries.

I hope that your strawberry plants would produce many fruits @solominer
I wonder if you put a fertilizer to it with potassium that it would produce sweeter fruits? :D

Ah thank you, I add mulch to the Strawberry plants to give them nutrients. I'll have to look into making them sweeter. Thanks for the tip

Enjoy the fruits. They are pretty easy to propagate from the runners. I think I was told to leave them attached until they take root. We have given away a fair few before. I don't mind if some spread out of their beds.

We also have a weed that looks like a miniature strawberry plant. It has similar leaves and also sends out runners, but it has really deep roots. It's all over the lawn and I just have to try and keep it out of the beds.

Oh okay good to know.. oh I've seen those little plants too.. if they are small and look like strawberries I think I know what you are talking about.

Hey thanks for stopping by and supporting my posts. It's kinda funny. We have a garden going but no strawberries. And just yesterday our youngest was saying he wants strawberries next time. 😁👍

Ah well you should start some.. you can buy a big pack of roots from starkbros online, that's where I got mine.

Love how I can pick some every day and have a treat.

This is impressive and new to me. Strawberry don't grow in my country. Probably because of our climate. We always import them

Ah yeah they grow well where I live. Hmm not sure why they wouldnt grow where you live. They just need lots of sunlight and water.

Like I said earlier, I think it's because of our weather in Nigeria. Maybe it's too harsh for it. We don't grow apples here too. We import them. The seed wouldn't germinate or if at all it does it won't survive.

Thanks for your response and the upvote and follow 😁.

Stay safe

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!