#GardenHive - All the Early Blooms!

in #gardenhive3 years ago


Garden5.jpg

Inspired in part by the Hive community, I began reclaiming lawn space, building raised boxes, and blogging about my adventures in gardening. This might be year #5 of the ever-growing garden that officially launches this weekend every year.

There is a new curation engine in play named @GardenHive for us Hive green thumbs and I think you should check out the intro post here https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@gardenhive/gardenhive-introduction-hive-garden-community-curation-account Thanks to @skylinebuds for creating the curation account and @simplymike for introducing me to it.

In this update, I have a collection of blooms from an early summer Canadian garden. Less words per photo than your usual Zeke post! iPhone Hack Photographer Master!


image.png


IMG_1465.jpg

I have to start with my punk rock daisies growing right in the middle of the lawn. Wasn't sure what they were 'til they all popped.


image.png


IMG_1398.jpg

I learned (after 10 years watering this thing) that this is a Peony!


image.png


IMG_1538.jpg

This was a perennial I planted last year and it popped up again this year. I know what it is called because the tag was still in the ground and it read https://www.gardenia.net/plant/coreopsis-jethro-tull-tickseed Aqualung!

image.png


IMG_1537.jpg

I kinda think annuals are cheating but here are some petunias for a splash of colour. Wins me WifePoints© 2018 and reminds me of home.


image.png


IMG_1536.jpg

In this photo, we have a symphony of roses, hydrangeas, petunias, begonias, and a hosta throwing a pod into the ring. Neat little corner beside the hot tub.


IMG_1553.jpg

Here is the same space in late afternoon sun.


image.png


IMG_1541.jpg

I love these lilies. They grow wild in some fields in the region and have manager to hang onto a couple corners of my yard. They green out and cover so much ground early, then they explode into bold blooms late June/early July.


image.png


IMG_1543.jpg

You know it is Bloomapalooza when even the grass jumps into the fray. I will have to figure out the exact species of this grass I planted a few years ago but here are some exotic blooms boldly standing in the front yard.


image.png


IMG_1549.jpg

Quite a few of the blooms, I have no idea what they are or whether the are weeds (NATIVE PLANTS!) or not. These are one of them. Sometimes, you snap a shot on an iPhone that makes you love photography.

image.png


IMG_1539.jpg

Pitcher Plant?

image.png


IMG_1535.jpg

Bunnies' Ears?

image.png


IMG_1534.jpg

What I really enjoy is the vegetable blooms. These are cherry tomato blooms on a plant which is already 3 feet tall. This may end up being our first edible tomato.


image.png


IMG_1533.jpg

These little buds will soon become green Italian squash (AKA zucchini) The stuff I grow for my girls.


image.png


IMG_1542.jpg

I can't have a flower update, or any kind of garden update for that matter, without a shot of my @lynds lupins Only a couple years in, they are growing plenty of green and shooting up larger flower.....cones? Lots of fuzzy seed pods I will make sure and collect for other places in the garden.


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Then, blog about it using #gardenjournal and the new #gardenhive tags as we network and curate the journals of other green thumbs, outdoor enthusiasts and fresh whole foodies.


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

What do you grow?

Sort:  

As always, a great post. You have many beautiful corners in your garden.
The advice about the Hive Garden Community was also a good one, thank you!
!ENGAGE 20

I appreciate the time you take to consume my content. When you invest even more with feedback, that is a noble thing!

!BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Garden is looking awesome. I found a new sprout in my garden today..

received_205590744666996.jpeg

BOOYAH!

'Til I can grow my own, I will refine my growing game on bullshit vegetables and live vicariously through the team at Buttermilk Ranch.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.

@zekepickleman, a lot of flowers in your garden 🏡! Beautiful!

Posted using Dapplr

That green thumb of yours keeps getting greener.
Flowers come in so many shapes and colors, and it seems that each one gives off it's own unique aroma.
You had mentioned in an earlier post that you were going to start taking over lawn space, Keep up what you're doing and the place will be Zeke's Botanical Gardens.

It's always exciting to see the veggies following up the blooms on the veggie plants.

As you are doing, following in your Mom's footsteps, this same passion is being passed along to your children.
Having a garden and nurturing all that grows in it is a wonderful lesson for anyone.

Great update, one that I know @farm-mom will enjoy, she is a flower nut!!

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Your garden is really blooming up. All the flowers are just wonderful, the more color the better in my book.
Did I see you say hot tub? Now that's stepping up a sweet garden addition. I'm going to put that bug in the sweed's ear for sure.
Talking about the day lilies, they are starting to bloom now here in Upstate, there are thousands of them on our homestead as well as all the surrounding farms and fields, just gorgeous. As much as I enjoy growing veggies, it's all my flowers that really get me going, especially my roses. I have several different types of roses, long stem, bush, double blooms, minis as well as wild transplants. Can't have too many of those sweet smelling beauties.

IMG_9852 (1).JPG

A really enjoyable post @zekepicklman, thanks for sharing the joy of gardening.
Have a great weekend, enjoy your beer Saturday!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more