#HiveGarden Update - Budding Veggies Already!

in #gardenhive3 years ago


Garden5.jpg

Inspired in part by the Hive community, I began reclaiming lawn space, building raised boxes, and blogging about my adventures in gardening. This might be year #5 of the ever-growing garden that officially launches this weekend every year.

There is a new curation engine in play named @GardenHive for us Hive green thumbs and I think you should check out the intro post here https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@gardenhive/gardenhive-introduction-hive-garden-community-curation-account Thanks to @skylinebuds for creating the curation account and @simplymike for introducing me to it.

In this update, I take a closer look at the garden to see if there are any veggies among the insane. early summer foliage.


image.png


IMG_1594.jpg

Last week's smash hit of a #gardenhive post showcased the early blooms. My hydrangeas were a little shy but have popped this week among said insane foliage.


image.png


IMG_1592.jpg

First stop is the hot pepper bed. shouldering up to eachother in this raised box are chili, Hungarian wax, habanero, ghost, moruga, carolina reaper and these jalapenos. These are my staple pepper as they have a moderate heat, good size and flavour I love. I think the habanero might be the ideal pepper as far as heat and flavour but those bloom a little later. I will probably pull a few peppers a week off this plant for use in sandwiches, nachos, and pretty my every food I can put it in. The rest will become hot sauce, along with the other hot peppers to be showcased in future episodes.


image.png


IMG_1595.jpg

Speaking of peppers, I grow the sweet mild varieties as well. The pepper in the background started out like the flower in the foreground a couple weeks ago. It is still only about 3 inches long and will likely take a couple more to be worth picking. It will be the first of the year and will find a home in some happy salads and is FANTASTIC on a pizza from scratch.

image.png


IMG_1600.jpg

On the theme of salad, we are growing plenty of that too. So much so that I have no clue what half of this is. Collectively it is arugula, red lettuce, mescaline, spinach, assorted lettuce, swiss char, radish, and I am glad it is the girls department to harvest and sort it all.


image.png


IMG_1596.jpg

The ladies also enjoy their zucchini. These ones are yellow Italian squash and coming along nicely, along with a handful of smaller ones in close pursuit. We will let these grow a few inches longer, harvest them before they become too seedy, and use them for pastas and sliced like veggie pepperoni.

image.png


IMG_1597.jpg

Our cherry tomato vines are now taller than I am. With the other strains going nuts in the bottom of the raised box, I knew I would have to build a trellis and help them climb up into the sun. Mission accomplished as they are over 6 feet tall and a closer look shows there are a few bunches of fruit! Excellent as snacks straight up, in salads, and, again, pizza toppings.


image.png


IMG_1599.jpg

The long green bean vines started a little slowly this year, which they may have last year when I think about it. Anyhow, I have a few vines climbing up to the top of the fence, and I will strive to keep them on my side this year. These cute little purple flowers will each become the early green beans which are great steamed. Eventually, we will be over run with them and then it is pickling time! My favourite ones will go in with chili peppers for a little salty spicy snack.


image.png


IMG_1601.jpg

We have harvested dozens of strawberries through June in year 2 of the strawberry patch. The leaves are now completely filling the garden box and the berries had actually slowed down this week. Upon closer inspection, the next round of berries are indeed growing and may be denser the second round. Cereals and pancakes and even soda water have been where the early ones went and if they boom, we will be giving away baskets and making jam out of them as well. I forgot to snap a shot of the raspberry buds but it looks like we will have many after a year of none last summer.


image.png


IMG_1555.jpg

This is the last known status of the garden seeing as I was so close in on all the shots in this update. I will snap a picture in the morning (after enjoying the #morningbowl with @davedickeyyall) and post it in the comments to show you the growth in the last week of alternating rainstorm/hot as hell periods.


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Then, blog about it using #gardenjournal and the new #gardenhive tags as we network and curate the journals of other green thumbs, outdoor enthusiasts and fresh whole foodies.


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

Post a pic of your garden. Big or small!

Sort:  

Peppers and tomatoes are looking awesome. We have no fruits yet as I haven't seen ANY bees.. #themorningbowl coming up soon .. I'm still making coffee.. but here's some radishes from my garden..

1625659087193954574476217673326.jpg

Ah yah we are growing radishes for the first time this year. I guess you keep planting seeds every month or so and they do grow quite quickly.

Solid. Now to head on over to the morning bowl.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

I have the blockchain solely to thank for becoming a foodie via restaurant reviews and gardening.

Who'd a thunk it? Hive can do anything and I appreciate the curation.

looking good! Those peppers sound good; I think we only did some mild ones this year, but they are finally tearing off in the garden too

They really are something else right from the garden.

I have fermented Ghost Peppers from a couple years ago still and they are so damn hot, I use just a sneeze in my other hot sauces otherwise it is uneatable. Morugas and Carolina Reapers are suppose to be way hotter than Ghost so you know I am just growing them for sport. ;)

that sounds good...I will have to look at fermenting ours out this year. My wife isn't the biggest fan but I love to ferment what we grow

I was shown the ropes by @sequentialvibe and it is rather simple and effective. Great preservation and the flavour enhances!

I do like simple (a lot!)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.

Wow! Your garden is looking fantastic and very productive! Love your idea or reclaim lawn are for gardening - I'd much rather be eating fresh garden foods then looking at green grass!
thanks for sharing!