A look at My Home Garden for June 7, 2020

in #gardening4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my garden!

Today was kind of a rainy day, with showers off and on for most of the day. I managed to get outside for a little while to check on the garden to see how the plants are doing. Of course, I took my camera with me to get a few pictures.

The red potato plants in the side garden are doing really well so far, they're growing nicely. There's also a row of sunflowers planted across the edge of the garden that also seem to be doing pretty well for the most part. The weeds are starting to grow in great quantity, so I have some of the worst patches between the rows blocked off from the light with pieces of old plastic truck bed liner.
DSCN3161.JPG

The seed potatoes that I planted in the main garden have not some up yet, but there's a few volunteer potato plants growing in the rows where I moved them to. I figure that if they want to grow, I'll put them in the rows and let them.
DSCN3162.JPG

I finally got my squash plants transplanted into the garden. These are an old rare heirloom squash called Potimarron squash. They are supposed to have a deep orange skin and orange flesh. I saw the seeds in the Annie's Heirlooms seed catalog and wanted to try them.
DSCN3163.JPG

These are the yellow straight neck summer squash plants that I planted in the end of one of my raised beds. There's 4 plants in that clump. I bought these plants.
DSCN3165.JPG

The corn patch is doing well so far also. This is an old heirloom flour corn variety called Bloody Butcher. It was very popular as a field corn in the late 1800s and early 1900s before yellow field corn became popular. We use this corn to make hominy.
DSCN3164.JPG

The tomato plants in the raised bed seem to be doing pretty well also. They're all growing, although one plant is still pretty small. It was smaller than the others when I planted it, so I suppose that's normal. The big pots in front of the raised bed have been planted with yellow wax bean seeds, but I just planted them a couple of days ago, so I don't expect to see the plants come up for about a week. The wire screen is on top of the pots to keep the gray squirrels from digging in the pots. For some reason, they like digging in those 2 pots.
DSCN3166.JPG

My strawberry plants are forming strawberries now. This picture isn't as clear as I would have liked, the autofocus on the camera doesn't always work properly for closer shots.
DSCN3168.JPG

One more picture, my irises are in full bloom right now. I keep a fence around them to keep the local deer from eating them.
DSCN3170.JPG

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you've enjoyed the pictures!
Thanks for stopping by my page to check out this post!

amber garden.png

Sort:  

Glad your red potato plants coming along well. Your garden seems very pretty. I can imagine takes a lot of time to keep up the garden.

Yes, it's a fair amount of work, but not so much as to take up all my free time. 🙂

Looking good!

Everything looks like it's off to a great start. The strawberries too. My wild strawberries didn't produce anything despite having loads of flowers. I've already tasted some of my domestic ones though.

It's odd that you didn't get wild strawberries this year. Maybe there weren't enough pollinators for the flowers?

I always seem to have pollinator problems.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @ashikstd and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @ashikstd on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening